We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Hotel in Vancouver - AWESOME breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Hotel in Vancouver - AWESOME breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We've stayed at the Shangri-La hotel a few times and it is our favorite. The Shangri-La Vancouver is located a block or two out of the main fray of Vancouver but very conveniently to main attractions (personal greetings, not cavernous, beautiful furnishings, etc.). The hotel is gorgeous and it feels more like an upscale residence than a hotel. Parking is extremely convenient and private (underground). It feels as if you've arrived at a secret club. The rooms are not huge but very comfortable. I'd like to remodel our bathroom at home after the bathroom in our room (nice glass shower, private toilet, pretty wood counter, big tub). Multiple bathrobes are provided and one of my favorite details is that there is a woman-sized robe that is smaller than the man-size robe.

We splurged on the breakfast package, which is well worth the price. The breakfast at the restaurant (which is a Jean George restaurant), is utterly amazing. Our daughter (6) was 1/2 price. The included breakfast has a variety of items; our favorite is the dim sum. While technically this comes with congee, they graciously substituted eggs for congee (although my son did try the congee and it was the best congee we've ever had).

There is a small heated pool and an adjacent hot tub. From there, we watched the Seahawks/SF game through the glass to the nearby bar.

From the hotel, we went to the Aquarium (straight-shot into the park), and also toured the city for the Hot Chocolate festival. There are a variety of great boutiques and cafes on the street, and there is a very nice gourmet grocery store at the street level of the hotel that we stopped in to stock up on treats for the trip back to Seattle.

The only detractor can be the price. The other hotels we tend to look at are the Four Seasons, Fairmont, etc. If price is equal, I would select the Shangri-La and especially take the Shangri-La with breakfast package.

Room Tip: All the rooms we've stayed in have been quiet. This is a very popular hotel for weddings, thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetlager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    200
    56
    33
    9
See reviews for
282
682
109
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel is so perfect in every way from the comfortable and spotless rooms to the staff with one exception, the front desk. There always seems to be some issue with check in. This time, the agent offered upgrades that come with AMEX reservations, but these were for a charge. It was not made clear until the check in process continued. Then it was a negotiation of the upgrade rate. This is so unacceptable for this level of hotel. It felt like we were on the streets of Istanbul negotiating for a room by the hour.
At check out, the AMEX benefits were not posted properly to our bill. We had to wait until the front desk agent could make the adjustments. Simply disorganized. I don't have these issues anywhere else, yet there always seems to be an issue at this hotel.
The experience at the hotel other than the front desk is an exceptional five star experience. This is one of my favorite hotels in the world and as a person who is on the road 50% of the year, that's a statement. I just wish they could get their act together at the front desk. Nothing worse than arriving after a flight to be ambushed with bait and switch tactics at the front desk. Shame. Shame.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank THESUPERFRANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I truly apologise for the inconvenienced you endured during check-in and check-out. Please note that I have addressed your points with the relevant department heads and taken measures to ensure that experiences such as these are prevented in the future. I am glad that you find our hotel comfortable and spotless, we look forward welcoming you back at the Shangri-La Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for business as the hotel I normally stay at was not able to accommodate me. It was my lucky break as the ambiance and atmosphere at the Shangri-La is fantastic and the service exceeded my expectations. I will certainly stay there again and will be using it as my home away from home when in Vancouver. It is close to everything you need. Value was great, but I will admit that I was staying under my company's rate plan which made it much more reasonable.

Room Tip: At present (January 2014) there is construction going on across the street for a new condo. I did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very humbled by your comments. We look forward seeing you again in your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

As usual stay was exemplary. Staff was helpful and welcoming. Executive king balcony room was well above average, very clean, well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast at The Market was very good, although prices are quite high.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband travels overseas regularly (mainly Asia) and where possible stays at Shangri-La resorts. The service at the Vancouver Shangri-la was second to none. We stayed for 2 nights in transit to Whistler Mountain and then another 3 nights at the end of our skiing trip. We booked 2 rooms - we have 2 adult children. Luxurious beds, friendly and helpful concierge superb fitout in rooms and lobby/concierge levels. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for supporting Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts. We hope you can visit our other properties around the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

They will give you the finest quality of service and fulfill your every desire. No request is too much and the staff is the best from the moment you roll into the valet. Get the executive package for an amazing car detail and suit press before you go out to the Chi Chi lounge for a Basil Margarita Cocktail...this place rocks and rivals a suite in Vegas

Room Tip: Check out the Kimonos in the bedroom before you go to bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank romeshow1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that we were able to provide quality service and fulfil your every desire during your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

From arrival to departure my wife and I had an amazing experience at the Sangri-La Hotel. Our room suite was fantastic. We had lunch and breakfast at the Market restaurant, the food was excellent. The Chi Spa is a must! The main lasting memory we had was the very high level of service, we experienced this with everyone we came in contact with at the hotel, we will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I will share this with the everyone, they will for sure be humbled by your comments. We look forward welcoming you back at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing