We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unreal Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Unreal Experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is one of two of the best that my husband and I have stayed in on the planet. The service is uncompromising, the rooms are luxurious and the spa is magical and the food at Market is delicious. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with city views and couldn't have been happier. It was a very romantic 3 nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichelleAkimow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    203
    57
    33
    9
See reviews for
286
690
110
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. I decided to stay here because I had a great experience at the shangri-la Hong Kong. Service was extremely attentive and room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zoolander-Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

When we travel, we prefer a luxury hotel with all of the associated perks. We chose this hotel through the American Express Platinum Fine Hotels program...and we have no regrets. It was excellent. The room, which was an upgrade to a suite was lovely. Nice city view, great bathroom, tub & shower, plenty of closet space, etc. Everything you would expect at a hotel of this calibre and more. We both caught a cold on the cruise we had just finished and the staff at the hotel sent us chicken soup, that was out of this world! How thoughtful! They couldn't do enough for us...really a great choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbyleerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

From the moment you step in the door at Shangri-La Vancouver you feel special. I cannot put my finger on anything that is not good. The breakfast is just magnificent. It is seldom to have such crispy fresh croissants and sweet tasty fruit salad. Try it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JensChristian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel is 5 star top to bottom. From the design to the comfort and services provided by the hotel staff it is top notch. I recommend the hotel to anyone from out of town and for those that are local to experience the stay as it is unlike any other hotel I hae stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mchadha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Shangri la is a bit of paradise in Vancouver, which is paradise in itself. Beautifully appointed, modern rooms, a convenient location (one block off Robson) and an attentive staff make this a great choice. The only things keeping me from giving it an "excellent" rating are:

-Strange lobby layout. There are actually two lobbies....one underground, where all cars pickup an drop off...and a street level lobby which gets much less use. The underground lobby, while staffed with helpful people, it's not very grand or in-keeping with the luxury above. It's a bit cramped by the elevators and dimly lit. You'll really only visit the "main" lobby if you decide to go out on foot.

-Limited views. While the property is promoted as the tallest building in Vancouver (62 stories), the hotel only occupies the bottom 15 floors.

-Small pool.

Definitely a more modern alternative to the Sutton Place or the Fairmont and very comfortable.

If you found my review helpful, please give it a vote! I like getting those emails ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aurorahunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a very convenient location, with no negatives, but not matching the "Wow" of Shangri-La Hotels in Asia.
The plus points are nicely furnished and spacious rooms, well appointed bathrooms and the central location which allows you to walk to Stanley Park, the harbour front, down-town shopping, Chinatown and other tourist spots. The concierge team was wonderful in making restaurants reservations and providing directions.
We had Continental Breakfast included in the room rate and thus were positively surprised when we were offered full Buffet (American) Breakfast in the restaurant. It was, however, no comparison, to the variety of dishes offered for example in Singapore, Bangkok, Manila or Tokyo. The bar, at street level, was OK, but did not dazzle.
Turn-down service, if it happened, was basic, so you had to find the shoe-shine or laundry-bag in the drawers, rather than invitingly put out in front of the bed. No morning newspaper on the door-knob either, and only local ones at breakfast. :-(
Maybe the hotel team could benefit from a trip to Singapore to experience - and then re-apply - the original model?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,812 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,593 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
2,336 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
1,493 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing