We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but Inadequate Closet Space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite on August 16-18, 2013. Easy check in, big room, comfy bed, nice and quiet, lots of towels. Only problem: Very small (and I mean tiny) clothes closet. My wife was only able to hang a few shirts and pants on hangers. The closet was not tall enough for a long coat, a suit, or a dress. Most people bring clothes on vacation and need room for them in their suite!

The front desk clerk told me "we hear that a lot" and said the hotel was mostly for "business people" who do not "have a lot of clothes". This answer still does not make sense.

Nice hotel, but they dropped the ball on closet design.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and posting a review. I am sorry to hear that you found your closet to be too small. We do have luggage racks and rolling racks available for guests wishing to use them. I apologise if you were not offered one and will follow up with the Front Desk team to ensure they are more proactive in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Perfect in every regard. Magnificent service. Outstanding rooms. No detail was overlooked. Fabulous concierge service; totally above and beyond. Everyone here appeared to love their job and love helping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic all around.
Service was superb & I got a complimentary upgrade to a suite with a balcony.
The hotel is very refined with Asian themed decor & the rooms are superbly equipped (down to the Nespresso espresso machine).
The pool is small but a welcome feature & the hot tub & deck are lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutchero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

On arrival, one of our party needed urgent dental treatment, sustained on the way over to Canada. The reception staff, and especially Benjamin, were extremely helpful in recommending and arranging an appointment at a local surgery. Very considerate service.
The room was well appointed, and adequate for a short family stay of 4 people sharing, as is always the case with shared rooms with teen/pre teen children.
Great location, good restaurants in the area, and all easily walking distance from everywhere.
Lifts were somewhat slow in mornings (5 min wait), due to use by business centre guests and staff checking guests baggage (1 out of 3) working

Room Tip: Choose one on highest available floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paullywaully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent service at Shangri-La Vancouver. The hotel is very nice, quiet and clean.
The breakfast was perfect to start the day with :-) Good food and good coffee :-)
Thank you for Shangri-La Team to make our stay unforgettable.
The size of the bed could be a little big bigger.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TatouColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a gorgeous property in a nice location - easy walking distance to the water, convention center, shopping on Robson Street, etc. Unfortunately, one of the managers ruined our experience in Vancouver by treating our party in rude, obnoxious, offensive way. We had a discrepency upon check in with the room types and rates, and while the hotel wasn't wrong in their point of view or opinion, the way we were spoken to by a hotel manager (at such a well-known nice property!) was outrageous. He publicly yelled at us in the lower lobby, lost his temper, seemed young and immature, and caused us to ask him if he would like us to leave the hotel and find somewhere else to stay. It seemed to take everything in him to calmly say "no, you are guests here and you are welcome to stay." Doesn't the Shangri-La have some sort of manager trainings and standards? A great property and I'd recommend it as long as you aren't being harrassed by the manager!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L2386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us. We take tremendous pride in our management team, and take to heart your feedback. Please note that I have addressed your points with the relevant department heads and taken measures to ensure that experiences such as these are prevented in the future. Again thank you for taking the time to provide me this detailed response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is lovely, but we had an incredibly bad experience with a Service Manager. He was rude and condescending to the point of bringing my daughter to tears. We spent over $1500 for 2 rooms (2 nights), and couldn't wait to leave for fear of bumping into him again. Very unusual for a hotel of this caliber. The rest of the staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank delber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are dismayed to hear of your experience, as to how our manager handled your reservation discrepancy. Rest assured, I have spoken to this colleague and will enroll this person in further training sessions to prevent this from happening again. Again thank you for your feedback on your stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,158 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,789 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,453 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $233 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splitty, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing