We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent service at Shangri-La Vancouver. The hotel is very nice, quiet and clean.
The breakfast was perfect to start the day with :-) Good food and good coffee :-)
Thank you for Shangri-La Team to make our stay unforgettable.
The size of the bed could be a little big bigger.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TatouColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    205
    59
    33
    9
See reviews for
296
710
113
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a gorgeous property in a nice location - easy walking distance to the water, convention center, shopping on Robson Street, etc. Unfortunately, one of the managers ruined our experience in Vancouver by treating our party in rude, obnoxious, offensive way. We had a discrepency upon check in with the room types and rates, and while the hotel wasn't wrong in their point of view or opinion, the way we were spoken to by a hotel manager (at such a well-known nice property!) was outrageous. He publicly yelled at us in the lower lobby, lost his temper, seemed young and immature, and caused us to ask him if he would like us to leave the hotel and find somewhere else to stay. It seemed to take everything in him to calmly say "no, you are guests here and you are welcome to stay." Doesn't the Shangri-La have some sort of manager trainings and standards? A great property and I'd recommend it as long as you aren't being harrassed by the manager!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L2386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us. We take tremendous pride in our management team, and take to heart your feedback. Please note that I have addressed your points with the relevant department heads and taken measures to ensure that experiences such as these are prevented in the future. Again thank you for taking the time to provide me this detailed response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is lovely, but we had an incredibly bad experience with a Service Manager. He was rude and condescending to the point of bringing my daughter to tears. We spent over $1500 for 2 rooms (2 nights), and couldn't wait to leave for fear of bumping into him again. Very unusual for a hotel of this caliber. The rest of the staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank delber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are dismayed to hear of your experience, as to how our manager handled your reservation discrepancy. Rest assured, I have spoken to this colleague and will enroll this person in further training sessions to prevent this from happening again. Again thank you for your feedback on your stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

stayed here on our wedding night, and we were upgraded to a terrace suite, upon checking in. oh, the chocolate covered strawberries and champagne from the manager was a nice touch too! The view of the city is impeccable, the amenities are second to none, and the washroom was fantastic! They have technology in the mirrors and one of the best showers ever.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iAmitKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are honoured that you chose to spend your special night with us and thankful that you let us be part of your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our room was small, but well-appointed. It is the comfortable bed and excellent sleep that would convince us to stay here again. We chose the package that included breakfast and valet parking. Breakfast was excellent. Hotel is in an excellent location close to great restaurants and shopping. Staff were courteous and professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank funfamilytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you ever find yourself in the beautiful city of Vancouver I highly recommend staying at the Shangri-La, The service is top notch. The restaurant is amazing for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The gym has all the state of the art equipment. It is located in the heart of downtown and everything is a comfortable and easy walk. The rooms are spacious. I have stayed in a deluxe room as well as a junior suite. I can't wait to come back here again and again.

Room Tip: The corner suite on the 15th floor has an amazing view. The little touches like a Nespresso coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun4jbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear you had an exceptional stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Fabulous location. the hotel is stunning and staff are there for you, you do not go unnoticed, they go out of their way to please you from escorts to the elevator, thorough explanations at check in, and provide a very relaxing room to lose yourself in. We used the pull out sofa and could not get it to collapse which was frustrating, called housekeeping and in less than 10 minutes this was resolved. I felt like i was in a foreign city, no details were overlooked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,700 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,510 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,781 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing