We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a millionaire!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Feel like a millionaire!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Excellent service, amenities, location, staff, location. Next door to market, 1 block from liquor store, and restaurants nearby. Able to use shuttle to the pier. Near hopo on/off bus stops. Near shopping areas and landmarks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callmarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    205
    59
    33
    9
See reviews for
295
708
112
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel overnight. It was so lovely we didn't want to leave so soon but our planned schedule demanded it. Everything is top notch at this hotel. Granted it was pricey but you get what you pay for. Greeters at the desk could not have been more pleasant or helpful. The most pleasant two young men I've ever come across without being syrupy.
Location is in the heart of downtown Vancouver for easy walking.
Our suite came with a balcony which was a bonus. Across the road from us was construction going on
but not the day we were there. We were advised ahead of time before taking that particular suite, of the
construction. Nothing to hide and all up front and honest. I would highly recommend this hotel for a very
pleasing stay in the beautiful city of Vancouver if your budget allows. We found the food to be excellent as well.
They leave nothing amiss in the accommodations or service. They have unique one switch to turn on and off all the lights at once for when you leave your room/suite. Drapes also work electronically. Free WIFI and there was a lovely large desk in our suite, coffee maker and wine glasses. We stayed in a luxury one bedroom suite with separate living room. Luxury at it's best. I cannot comment on the spa as we did not have time to visit there. I'm quite certain it could live up to the rest of what Shangri-La offered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyJud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and for submitting photos of your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this excellent hotel located in downtown Vancouver. It is quite conveniently located being just a block away from the main arterial roads for heading both East/West or North/South.

The rooms are excellent and are located from floors 5 to 15. Some also have balconies. This is mainly a business hotel and a 'Shopping' hotel and all systems are tuned to save you time.

The staff is excellent and the food is very very good. They have many diet based variations of their menu and am sure that all kinds of dietary requirements would be well taken care of.

A word of caution though , there is construction going on on two sides of the hotel and it does become quite noisy. Though they do provide earplugs for sleeping, you cannot relax in the balcony and be an early riser or a deep sleeper. If you are booking here be sure to request a room away from the construction areas, otherwise a very nice, efficient and friendly hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akj_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I recently stayed at this facility for the second time. I was again impressed with the level of service and would rate the Shangri-La uniquely positioned as the best facility for rest and relaxation in all of Vancouver.

Staff management has a monopoly on what great service looks like. It goes far beyond opening doors as a bell boy, cleaning rooms as an attendant, meal service as a wait staff member; at Shangri-La you find service in the spirit of their employees and at the Shangri-La Vancouver and Toronto, this is what you will find.

Meals in the hotel restaurant are far superior to any restaurant in the area. I recommend you not waste time searching for a cheaper alternative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benfen6293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation of our property and MARKET by Jean-Georges. We aim to please and are happy to hear we did just that. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here before when it was first opened. Oue recent visit shows the downgrade in maintenance and service. The construction work nearby does not help either. There' s more 5 star hotels in Vancouver in recent years and surely lots of competition around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and sharing your thoughts with us. I apologize that you found your recent stay to be less enjoyable than the one you had when we first opened. Guest feedback is very important to us and I would very much like to gather some further information about your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly to share your thoughts on what we can improve upon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Shangri-La Vancouver is undoubtedly the best hotel in town! Having stayed at numerous facilities in YVR over the past 10 years, including the Four Seasons, Hyatt Regency, Sutton Place, & Fairmont Hotel, my wife, 6 year old son, and I decided to celebrate our 10th year wedding anniversary at this establishment. Upon walking into the garage lobby for check-in, the host noticed my son and presented him with a stuffed Shangri-La moose as a welcoming gift. From the actual check-in, to the valet staff, to the hostess and pianist serving us during Afternoon Tea at the Xi Shi Lounge, everyone was so personable and courteous. The service was absolutely phenomenal, not to mention the Deluxe room itself was nicely appointed and decorated. Turn down service was performed with little bookmarks left on the bed for that before bedtime story. Location is great, being within close proximity to several great Chinese restaurants in the downtown area. Overall, left us with such an impression that we are looking into staying at other Shangri-La hotels for our upcoming visits to Tokyo and Taipei. Thanks. We shall meet again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumbojetlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Congratulations on your 10 year anniversary. We are humbled that you chose to spend your special day with us. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Shangri-La Vancouver is a top-notch Hotel. We got a good deal last minute for Valentines Day and we were so surprised how large and beautiful the room was. The amenities are top notch. We liked the room so much we just got the Keg take-out. Which is just across the street. Great room, and great food. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,951 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,691 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,767 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,502 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing