We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Second visit to the Shangri-La Vancouver, intend to return on a regular basis, it more like the feeling of an exclusive club, than a hotel. Cannot fault the property or staff in any way, nothing is to much trouble, extremely courteous and professional. Excellent location close to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,658)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

absolutely fabulous!!!!stayed here for a romantic getaway, wow what a treat! we had rose petals in our room(what could be more romantic?)

service from every employee, incredibly kind and helpful.

food is incredible in the restaurant, attentive service

highly recommend and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmac5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My experience at the Shangri-la was far too short considering how amazing it was. The rooms are unbelievable, the staff are driven to make your stay beyond amazing (one of the managers Jeffrey was incredibly personable), and the spa treatment was an outlier. The facilities (pool, spa, gym) were beyond my expectations. Shangri-la is a hotel experience in its own league. I definitely recommend visiting the spa; the staff is personable, professional and is geared to to making you feel more relaxed.

Room Tip: All rooms are really great, definitely ask someone how to operate the air conditioning system
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

great hotel with excellent location. Concierge welcomed us and more importantly my family (with young child) even giving our baby daughter a teddy bear which she loved.

We even took a dip in the pool even though the weather was cool, the pool was heated and in excellent shape.

Several big events happened in Vancouver during this time including the 10k race and a rally the day before, however staying in the hotel we did not even notice.

Would recommend to anyone, as excellent location, excellent service!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollieweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Without a doubt, Shangri-La Vancouver sports the best service, location, and accommodations in the city.

Rooms: As a US citizen who regularly travels abroad I have come to understand that foreign hotels can feel cramped compared to their US equivalents (even if they are of much nicer quality), especially in major cities. The accommodations afforded to us were surprisingly spacious and very luxurious with ample bathroom and living room space. The lights, curtains, and amenities were controlled by thoughtfully placed panels throughout the room. I especially liked the mid-level urban view that the rooms afford, allowing you to glimpse at the bustle of Vancouver.

Service: The staff was outstanding, there were attendants placed to greet you throughout the hotel and even those attending to other issues always greeted me as I passed by. Every comment and effort was geared towards accommodating anything that I needed. I especially enjoyed the underground check-in and valet, it projected a level of sophistication and intimacy that is hard to describe, you need to experience it yourself. Soon after we arrived in the room a plate of fruit and a handwritten letter from the General Manager arrived. Every time I came threw the lobby I was engaged in pleasant conversation that always ended up offering genuinely helpful advice regarding my activities (the best way to get to arena, suggestions on shopping venues). One gentleman actually escorted me halfway down to Joe Fortes! Incredible!

Value: The pricing was extremely competitive for a venue of this value.

I, unfortunately, did not get a chance to sample the spa. A lack of foresight on my part as the only time available was during a previously scheduled engagement. The staff I did interact with in the spa literally tried to move the world to get me in, and that in of itself tells me I missed out. The location, restaurants, bars, and cleanliness are all certainly at the highest level. I did not come to Vancouver specifically to stay at the Shangri-La, but I will be back because of it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

With my demanding position I have to travel on a weekly basis. The Shangri-La is a home away from home. The service is outstanding, the rooms and facilities are simply amazing! Once you have a taste of this experience you will never want to stay at any other hotel. I have now had the privilege of staying at the Shangri-La in Tokyo and Vancouver and next week in Toronto. The Shangri-La experience in itself takes away the long hours, the pain of constant travel and being away from my husband and my children more bearable. I would recommend this fabulous hotel, for its service, attention to detail, total comfort and staff that make you feel part of the family every time you are there. If there is a Shangri-La in the city I am travelling to, it will always be my first choice without any hesitation! They are my family away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucieD2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Spent three days in Shangri-La Vancouver, great ambience, perfect quiet and absolutely kind service (really reminded me about Asia). I highly recommend this hotel to whomever wishes to feel in a cocoon after busy working hours or an intensive day of shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,074 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,752 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,361 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
2,633 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $264 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing