We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A queen for My Birthday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A queen for My Birthday!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have travelled around the world, stayed in many hotels, met many people and have been blessed to experience so much.... Now after all these years and experiences I can honestly say I have never stayed or come across such an amazing place. The staff were marvalous, kind, and friendly attending to every detail before we had even thought of it ourselves.
I really felt like royalty. Thank you to everyone who took part in making this the best and most memorable birthday ever!
Without hesitation I would reccomend the Shangra La to anyone and everyone!!!
Thank You From The Bistihas'

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bistihas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you chose to spend your special day with us. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    203
    58
    33
    9
See reviews for
287
699
110
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northern Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Outstanding rooms, and exceptional level of service. Definitely a must stay when on business in downtown Vancouver. The room was very well appointed, and had lots of space. A nice place to call home when on buinsess.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernAlbertaCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The quality of service and accommodation at the Vancouver Shangri La, is of the highest order. We were made to feel incredibly welcomed and nothing was too much to ask of the very obliging staff. We were provided restaurant recommendations, and helped with ticket purchases for events in the city. The bed in our room was to die for (and quite difficult to leave!). All in all, a first class experience, and I wouldn't consider any other hotel in Vancouver for my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a company Christmas party. The party was on Saturday night, but we booked for 2 nights to enable us to take in a show on the Friday evening. Upon arrival, it was a bit confusing how to enter the hotel, and there are 2 lobbies which makes it even more so. The check-in desk is on the same level as the parking valet, but when we arrived, there was no one at the desk and we stood around, quite confused for a couple of minutes until one of the valets appeared to go retrieve a clerk. This should not happen in a hotel of this calibre. That said, however, once they arrived, the "front desk" staff was very gracious and welcoming.

We had some difficulty with the scanable keys provided; one of the two issued to us would not work and we had to visit the reception desk again to have that dealt with. We also found them somewhat difficult to use, having to try more than once most times to get them to work.

The security at the hotel is such that you need a key to get the elevator to work, and it only allows you to get off on your own floor. We found this a but irritating and frustrating as we were with a large group and if we wanted to go to a friend's room, or vice versa, we would have to meet in the lobby, then ride up the elevator together. I believe a lot of hotels are like this now, but it seems a bit extreme to me.

Once we got into our room, we were pleasantly surprised to see small selection of fresh fruit and a hand-written welcome card on the small window table. We were booked in a "Superior Room" which I believe is their basic room. It was very well equipped, nicely decorated and comfortable. The bathroom especially was lovely, with a full-sized soaker tub, tv, separate toilet, large vanity, large shower, tile floors. The bed, pillows and bedding were of excellent quality and extremely comfortable. We slept well.

We didn't eat in any of the restaurants or order room service, but did have a cocktail in the lounge with friends. The lounge is small, intimate and comfortable. There was a young woman playing piano and singing in one corner, and this was lovely, though a little loud to accomodate our conversation comfortably. The service was impeccable, and the complimentary popcorn was a nice touch, but the bill of $70 for 2 glasses of wine, a caesar and a vodka cocktail seemed a little steep to me. Restaurant options on site and room service are also quite steep, but probably what you'd expect at a luxury hotel. There are many excellent options within walking distance if you prefer.

In the evenings, it was lovely to return to our room and see we'd received turn down service, and lovely gingerbread cookies left on the bed and complimentary water on the nightstand. Little touches like this, and the fresh fruit when we first arrived cost the hotel very little, but add to the feeling of welcome and appreciation and make one feel cared for. I don't know why all hotels don't do this! When we checked out, as we were leaving, the valet also gave us each a bottle of complimentary water, for the road.

Our Christmas party was at the Shangri-la as well, and was lovely. The wait staff and bartenders were great, and the meal was outstanding!

Overall, our stay was excellent! We received a special rate as we were with a group, so we received a excellent value for what we paid; I don't know what the regular rates are, but this hotel was very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgurl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went there for a night's stay. You could tell by the staff really cares for their costumers. Got a FREE complementary upgrade from Executive King Balcony to Excexutive Suite, all for NO EXTRA $!! What a great way to start the Shangri-la experience! The hand written note was very thoughtful and the suite was awesome. One of the best hotel's I've stayed at! Service was GREAT, breakfast was AWESOME and everything was just PERFECT! Definately worth the price! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I started speaking with David, front desk, to plan my Christmas event with 8 of my neices & nephews. He took an hour or so to show me all the different room selections and made great suggestions on how to make the stay more enjoyable for the kids, including showing me the Ginger cafe, where we could watch the Santa parade more closely. ... Next up was Ben, concierge, who was able to pre-purchase our tickets for the Stanley Park Bright Nights event. ... Upon arrival, David was there to greet us and walked us up to the room, where the kids had fresh cookies & milk waiting for them, along with a fresh fruit plate! David gave everyone an announcement and laid out the ground rules for the kids. ... Our extra cots were arranged to be brought in while we were at the park event... Upon check out, all the kids were given souvenier bears... We were even helped to our car to pack everyone in. The valet crew were very helpful, especially when one of the kids forgot something in the car. ... Melanie, in Ginger, was also very accommodating to our whole crew.

From start to finish, we were treated like royalty and it made the kids Christmas event this year an event to remember. Thank you for everything. :))

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for review of our property. I will be sure to share your kind words of praise with David, Ben and Melanie. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

From the hand-written note from the general manager waiting for me in the room to the water bottle handed to me as I stepped in the car to drive away, everything about my stay was perfect. Looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeshai l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing