We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salam Bombay

Salam Bombay
Ranked #65 of 3,707 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Fine Dining Indian Restaurant in Downtown Vancouver
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is great Indian restaurant. Indian people missing home made food taste , go grab it ! Try samosa chat , onion bhaji, aloo chat. Dal Tadla was really good too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drashish83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    162
    47
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food pretty good but so unfriendly!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Such unfriendly service cost this restaurant a star on this review. We didn't feel in the slightest bit welcomed and at no stage were we asked whether we were (or had) enjoying (enjoyed) our meal.

This was a shame really as the food was four star. It would have been five but the black lentil Dahl we had was tasty brown water with a few lentils in it, no substance whatsoever. The chicken jalfrezi, vegetable korma, mushroom rice and peshwari naan were all delicious. We were early eaters at 6.30 pm but it was still very quiet when we left.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SerenaGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

had dinner here during our vancover stopover. conveniently located downtown near the Hyatt, where we were staying. Ambience is quite nice. The food was very good and tasty. Service was very good as well. we had several vegetarian dishes and they were all better then our expectations. Overall a very good indian restaurant thats also reasonably priced. Definitely a repeat

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank krazy140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mediocre lunch buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

1st time patron at this restaurant. Wanted to find an Indian restaurant rather than the usual one that I go to. Read the reviews on tripadvisor. Was full of hope. But made a mistake outright for going with the lunch buffet. Just blend overly salty food. Lamb and chicken are both dry. Unsophisticated veggie dishes. Probably just to cater for the vast diversity of taste in the business area. Will certainly order from the menu next time and see if it lives up to the (good) reviews posted.

Service was very good - courteous and polite. Water glass was filled up when it was half full.

The dining area is rather open, which is good because it makes the place look big. Unfortunately, sound waves can travel far and near without much hindrance. There was a group of 12 to 14 people (probably having an office lunch). They talked loud in front of the buffet trays. Seemingly do not care about the germs that they sprayed onto the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bombay in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Not an obvious walk in as it an elevator ride to the second floor. Turn one way, a Chinese restaurant, turn other, Salam Bombay. First impressions, it was like any other restaurant, table cloths and cloth napkins but when escorted to our table we we most pleased as we then saw that 2 sides of the entire restaurant were glass panels and from our table we watched all the passing action Burrard Street from above. Service was immediate and friendly. An excellent selection from a varied menu at very acceptable prices. Better still it was flavorful and tasty. Thoroughly enjoyable and yes we would go back. Won't comment on the wine list as not too sure about wine consumption with Indian food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salam Bombay also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Salam Bombay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing