We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pair Bistro Locally sourced menu”
Review of Pair Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pair Bistro
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: West Point Grey
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pair Bistro Locally sourced menu”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great west coast food, all locally sourced. Not totally a "first nations" ( go to "Salmon and Bannock" for that) but a terrific selection of the best BC offers. The halibut that day was great, the lamb outstanding ( though if you don't like it rare, mention that ahead). The waitstaff was friendly and helpful. Srawberry fritters that day were fresh and tasty. There were 5 oysters on offer plus a wide selection of cheeses from around the province. There's a bit of noise from the street traffic, but it didn't interrupt our dinner. Everything was delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CENNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good meal on a Friday evening”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I would give this restaurant 3.5 stars, if that was possible.
We visited the restaurant on Friday evening, with our two under-eating young daughters (5 and 7). The meal started off with an amuse bouche of salmon mousse which was not very flavorful.
For appetizers we shared the cheese platter, which was served with nice thin toasted bread, a bit of fruit (a fresh pair, and dried figs and apricots), and some strange, soft round crackers. I would rate the cheese platter as OK - 2 of the 5 cheeses were pretty good, but nothing very exciting. That being said, we are not actually cheese connoisseurs, so, for instance, we cannot judge the bleu cheese at all.
For the main course we all shared the feast platter (for 2), which is a sort of tasting menu served in one long plate - the only downside to the simultaneous arrival of all courses being that the food gets cold more quickly that way... The feast included elk medalions (which we presented to the girls as "steak"), which were very good, halibut, which was good as well, and game hen, which, well, was also good. All three shared a tendency to be over-spiced - not in the sense that they were spicy, but in the sense that there were a lot of spices on them. Alongside the meat and fish came additions such as tasty mushrooms, and salad. E-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g on the plate was consumed by our joint forces - which attests both to the fact that the food was very tasty, and to the fact that the portions aren't very large.
We finished off the meal with a dark chocolate fondant which was simply excellent!

Oh, yeah, we also ordered some corn bread which we disliked (mostly because it was not sweet)...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“POSSIBLE FOOD POISONING AT PAIR BISTRO”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We recently ate at Pair Bistro and my husband and I got sick within less than 48 hours, which I was pretty sure was food poisoning, though I couldn’t be 100% sure. I reported this incident to the owner, not asking for anything in return.

More disturbing than the potential food poisoning, was the response of the owner. I hoped the owner would have been concerned, and would have investigated to ensure there was nothing wrong. Instead, he was instantly defensive and aggressive and did not deal with the issue at all. Instead of looking into a potential problem, he was quite irrational and started threatening legal action.

I will no longer recommend Pair Bistro and we won’t go there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic...we will be back often!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Small, quaint, casual, but still sophisticated. We loved the wine list and menu. Nicely selected local wines and the menu is unique with organic hens and grass fed beef to locally grown produce. We had the Bannock and cheese to start. Bannock was excellent. For entrees we had grass fed beef burger and some of the best pomme frites. Also the Elk and Salmon. Again excellent. Service was fantastic. Prices are so reasonable too, which is a nice change for the quality you receive.This will be one of our new places we will frequent often.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsFoodie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Taste British Columbia”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Date night with my wife and we are 5 blocks from our new favorite, Pair Bistro. We had been there last May when you could get a bucket of spotted prawns in season with a nice pinot grigio and enjoy a warm breeze. This time it was cold and wet January. Had to have the bannock with cedar jelly, and some Fanny Bay local oysters. The Desert Hills Malbec went down so smooth and couldn't wait for the lake trout. My wife did the seafood medley and soaked up all the wonderful juices. The smells and flavours of BC are divine and I highly recommend dropping in anytime and tasting why living here is the best.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allanlarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pair Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing