We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Globe @ YVR

Globe @ YVR
Ranked #932 of 3,751 Restaurants in Vancouver
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Food at restaurant was awesome, fish fresh and filet cooked perfect. Of course it is a little expensive because it is in the airport.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwhizz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food while you watch the world go by!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in the Fairmont hotel at YVR and eat at the resteraunt for evening meal and breakfast...

Evening Meal:- We (2 of us) could not choose what to eat, My Partner and I both wanted The Local "Black Cod" and the 12oz Rib Eye, So the Waitress suggested that we have both on a platter ans then we couls have a plate each and share both meals... Both dishes were excelent, and the waitress got a good tip for being so helpful.

Breakfast:- we had the buffet breakfast, it was all of good wuality, the branded products were what we expected and hot food was excelent.

Conclusion: try to book ahead and ask for a window table, the view is Cool (especially if you are a plane spotter :-) ) the food and service are very good. as to price, It is not the cheapest place we have eaten but no where near the most expensive. al in All Good Value!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jasen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Casual atmosphere and super friendly, competent staff. Decent value (for an airport restaurant) and fresh, satisfying food. Close your preflight ritual at the bar where you'll be greeted with a smile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fallguy450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

After three days of eating well in Whistler we toook the easy route and decided to eat dinner at the airport hotel. What do you expect from a hotel dining room? Even worse, one at an airport. Just a slice of reality before the long ugly flight back home. We started with a drink at the bar and with the coordinating of bar and restaurant staff seamlessly moved to dinner. The two appetizers we shared were very good. All entrees were excellent, my halibut was fresh and firm a wonderful piece of fish. Shared desserts with a glass of port ended an outstanding meal. The wine list was nicely inclusive inclsuding some excellent BC wine. The server was good, knowledgeable, better than expected for a hotel restaurant but still a notch below the food. The setting, lookin down on one active runway with the city and mountains beyond had great views but a little too open and dimly lit. Nonetheless it was a positively memorable dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
522 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Best airport meal ever”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This restaurant in the Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel has everything going for it in terms of quality, although it is expensive. I had the halibut with crab bisque and fingerling potatoes, which was perfect – perhaps the best sea food dish I have ever tasted. Service was superb and the choice of wines also good, albeit expensive.

We were saying at the hotel, but if you have a few hours to kill at the airport you could not do better than spending the time eating here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank What
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Globe @ YVR also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Globe @ YVR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing