We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Apartment Hotel at Reasonable Price”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Class Apartment Hotel at Reasonable Price”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My Partner and I recently spent 8 nights in L'Hermitage Vancouver (Oct'10). We selected this Hotel after consideration of Trip Advisor Reviews.
The Hotel, which is very centrally placed in Downtown, was excellent in virtually all respects. Our Suite, Open Plan Living Room incl Kitchen Area, Bedroom, Office/Study space & Bathroom was both spacious and well equipped. The Kitchen area included Hob/Oven/Fridge/Dishwasher/MicroWave and Coffe Machine (Pods). Their were TV's in both the Lounge & Bedroom and wireless Wi-Fi was available. The Hotel also has an impressive Breakfast Room which provided an extensive Buffet Breakfast and a Coffee Machine providing decent Coffee which is usually difficult to find with Hotel Breakfast ( you might guess from this that my Partner is very "picky" where Coffee is concerned).
The Hotel also has Gym/Outdoor Pool facilities which we didn't use. A Restuarant was about to open on the Ground Floor.
Perhaps even more impressive than these facilities was the attention and support from the Staff. Staff on the front desk & in the Breakfast Room were always attentive, polite and helpful. However, I thought the Concierge Desk Staff were even more impressive. During our stay, amongst other things, they arranged Bookings at hard to get into Restaurants and sorted out Car Hire arrangements. They were also helpful in suggesting must do's for our Itinerary. All this for an Nightly Rate of only £150.
Would I go back - I wouldn't look anywher else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,191
    375
    62
    14
    10
See reviews for
639
2,114
148
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Spacious, beautifully appointed rooms plus personable and very helpful staff + a canine concierge! Very conveniently located downtown. Well stocked breakfast buffet in spacious public rooms (available all day) and excellent service from all staff made this an unforgettable and, hopefully, repeatable experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgebackxhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The L'Hermitage Hotel made me feel welcome right from the get go...I received a complimentary upgrade, this was very unexpected, however I was extremely grateful - the room in my opinion was massive for a solo traveller, which almost made me feel a little ashamed to be utilising on my own...!

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and never experienced the simple touch of the personal welcoming card on the ktichen benchtop before...kudos to the GM of L'Hermitage Glenn Eleiter, walking through the doors & receiving this note reassured me immediately that I had chosen the right hotel...!

Unfortunately I didn't spend that much time at the hotel itself so I wasn't able to enjoy all the amenities the hotel had to offer - however free internet in the business centre was appreciated...

The staff were all very professional & friendly...the SkyTrain was within close walking distance making it extremely easy travelling to & from the airport...

I had only wished that I had stayed more than two night at this wonderful establishment - I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any of my friends and will definitely be back...!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwikaileigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Nothing is left out. Great services and friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful, spotless luxurious rooms. Comfy elegant beds. Not only did we sleep well but also slept in! Delicious, reasonably priced buffet breakfast. Spa pool and hot tub, out doors but heated and inviting. The rate was affordable, couldn't believe what we got for the $$. They don't skimp on bath products or the chocolates on our pillows and even provide complimentary 'disposable ' slippers which are comfy enough to take home and use for visitors. Didn't want to leave, will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazinga36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

This was our fourth visit to Vancouver, but our first stay at L'Hermitage, chosen on the basis of previous reviews. Our room was a "Boutique" - not extra large - but the big, beautifully appointed bathroom had the toilet in a separate room. Excellent.
We assumed we'd have cleanliness and up-to-date fittings (which we did), but we did not expect to be greeted by name every time we walked through the lobby! Made us feel special!
L'Orangerie provided the breakfast setting we like - quiet, classy and good value for money. Kimberley served us quietly and efficiently and we enjoyed chatting to her. :) The supermarket around the corner had all we needed for snacks, etc.
We borrowed the hotel's two bikes and helmets (which should be booked in advance), walked them to Stanley Park and then rode around there. Great fun and, of course, fabulous scenery!
The convenience of secure, on-site, valet parking was worth the $25 a night.
Hippo, the Canine Concierge, adds a bit of fun to the hotel and we have the impression that all the staff love working here.
We plan to return to Vancouver, and L'Hermitage hotel will be the first thing we book!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at L'Hermitage. Our room was a one bedroom boutique suite facing the street. The room was immaculate and tastefully decorated with high end treatments. The living area was a comfortable size, had sufficient space and included a fireplace and small wet bar area including a refrigerator. The bathroom was quite large with double sinks (marble), a separate water closet and glassed in shower. While the bedroom was small, it was adequate for a king size bed and provided a cozy and romantic sleeping area. Glass doors off the bedroom led to a balcony overlooking the street and included a small table and chairs. Even though the room faced the street, noise was not an issue. Excellent, high quality bathrobes were provided and the bed linens were a comfortable high thread count. Quite luxurious.

The front desk staff and attendants were welcoming, friendly and very helpful with restaurant recommendations and local attractions. While we did not travel with pets, the hotel is extremely pet friendly and have a resident dog Hippo who sleeps quietly in the corner of the lobby and loves attention from guests. Hippo has his own calling card and title of Manager of Canine Services....a cute touch.

The location is excellent and is in easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars.

We had a car and parking is an additional charge but the valet service to retrieve the car was fast and friendly...worth the price as parking in Vancouver is a problem.

If you are looking for a smaller venue of relaxed luxury and high quality service with a personal touch this hotel is for you. We loved it and would welcome the opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HNLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Reservations for 6 nights. Lovely hotel. Attentive staff. Asked for a quiet room - the 5am (unasked-for) wake-up was trucks in back of the building, backup signals blaring, tailgates crashing. I was told by the hotel desk at 5am that the hotel had complained to the city before about the garbage collection noise early each morning.
All I wanted was a nice, quiet room. The hotel could have put me on the other side of the building, away from the noise they new was going to occur. Instead, I was given a room that was blasted by the vehicle noise for over an hour that morning.
I made arrangements around 7am to move to another hotel. At 8:30, when I went to check out I was then offered a change of rooms, even an upgrade if I would stay.
Thanks but no thanks. The quiet room was mandatory, not optional. The hotel I moved to, not as nice esthetically, but quiet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saxify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing