We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home base”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2010

This hotel is a great place to stay if you want to feel like you are living in the heart of downtown Vancouver. There isn't much of a view as it's completely centrally located (between buildings), but it is modern, luxurious, and without room service or a restaurant onsite it forces you out into the city to experience it more like a real person and less like a tourist. There are dozens of restaurant options nearby, and a grocery store and liquor store just at the end of the block that are easily found and that both have a wide selection.

There's no need for a car - two blocks from the SkyTrain and just off of Robson Street it's easy to grab a taxi or hop a bus, and everything downtown is close enough to walk to in under 30 minutes - even Granville Island and the aquarium!

The staff were very friendly and non-invasive, adding to the feeling that this was MY place. I kept the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on almost the whole time and yet every time after returning from my adventures no matter how long I had been gone for, my room had been picked up and tidied, with appropriate lighting for whatever time of day it was. The fireplace in the room is flame and heat-less, and very enjoyable at nighttime with the screen-less windows open to waft the smell of rain in to combine with the cozy and modern living area.

I had a wonderful experience here - no surprises or let-downs at all except that my iPhone wasn't compatible with the iPod docking station so I couldn't play my own music - easily remedied by the fact that their satellite TV had over 40 music stations for me to choose from. I will absolutely be returning to stay in this hotel on future visits to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,692 - 3,698 of 3,938 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed for 5 days in a 1 bedroom suite - included a kitchen and a fireplace. Room was very clean when we arrived and kept that way on a daily basis. Maids would wash any dishes and replace the Nespresso Pkgs (some place will charge for this) at no charge. Large balcony overlooking Richards, and plenty of light entering the room. Very spacious room and a great price - don't even dream about getting something like this in NYC. Staff was helpful and polite, directing us to great restaurants and sightseeing. Small gym, continental breakfast (well priced) and a saltwater lap pool. No 24 hr restaurant - but not expected - open late IGA on same corner. Will stay here going forward for all Vancouver trips. Pet friendly but you wouldn't know it by the cleanliness of the rooms (we also had a friend in a smaller room) - also great.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandinmyveins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

The nicest hotel stay I've encountered. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly in a nonintrusive way. The hotel is bright, new and appoints in the room were modern

The room was extremely clean and very large. The bathroom was heaven with a soaker but and separate shower. Lots of towels and extra'.........in the bathing area.

Now this has limited amenities.... no restaurant as it si part of a condominium complex.

Interesting I only stayed here two night and instantly wish I had stayed more after I booked in at the famous Sylvia Hotel....what a disappointment after this wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medhatbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

The location of this hotel is great. An IGA steps away and a liquor store just beyond that. Right in the midst of the downtown shopping area. Restaurants all around. Rooms are nice but smallish. Very nice business centre and lounge. Pool and amenities. Staff seemed indifferent. Not rude, that would have required some interest. But nothing to really complain about. Great place to stay if your needs from Hotel staff are few. Again, the location is great. And the beds are wonderful. Great beds. Rooms facing the street are a bit noisy at night but nothing major. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacSally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Was our first trip to Vancouver. We could not have made a better choice then staying at L'Hermitage. The staff was great and the room was amazing. We walked to almost all activities that we had planned. We can't wait to get back again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebintulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Booked this hotel on Priceline because it was close to where we were going to a show and it WOWWED us. For the price I don't think any other hotel in downtown Vancouver can beat it. The "rooms" are actually a good sized condo!! We had booked a boutique king room but they "upgraded" us to a solarium ROOM! It wasn't just a room. There was a full kitchen including a full size fridge, stove, microwave, and dishwasher. It had a dining room table and 4 chairs as well as a gas fireplace. There was even a stacked washer & dryer in one of the closets!! The huge king sized bed was the most comfortable I've found in a hotel. This was the first time we've stayed downtown in any large city and not heard sirens & traffic noise all night.
I guess you get the picture - I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great room at a great price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvcruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

A really nice boutique hotel. Enjoyed the hot tub and pool, Extremely friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,111 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,720 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,769 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $204 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing