We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like having our own apartment in the city”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was like having our own apartment in the city”
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Given that we paid less than $200 for a suite with a gourmet kitchen, I'd have to say that L'Hermitage was well worth the money. Not having to eat out every night really saved us some money and there was a grocery store less than a block from the hotel.

The rooms were beautifully decorated, and while perfectly comfortable, the color palate felt a bit cold and uninviting at times. But that's really just nitpicking.

The pool was an absolute oasis and was nice to relax there after a day of sightseeing.

Another thing that made the room a value was the free high speed internet. Many hotels charge exorbitant fees for this luxury and L'Hermitage gives it free for their guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethS0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,336
    386
    65
    14
    11
See reviews for
679
2,208
154
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed in a premium king suite. The room was spacious and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and the full kitchen was terrific. The room also had a washer and dryer. The hotel has a nice lap pool and hot tub on the roof top of the 5th floor as well as a beautiful lounge area.
There is a great food store a half a block away which is great for stocking the kitchen. The hotel is half a block away from Robson St.
We chose to return our rental car as soon as we hit Vancouver because of the reviews we had read about break ins in the parking garage.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed in this great hotel for 2 nights on our trip through Canada.
We had booked trough internet with good rate for luxury 1 bedroom suite, and were given an update to even more luxurious suite, with 2 bathrooms, balcony, study and lovely kitchen.
The hotel is right off Robson street, and within walking dinstance of all the Vancouver centre highlites.
Great service (they even clean up your kitchen and put your stuff in the dishwasher).
We were slightly worried about the parking issues that were raised on Tripadvisor, but they proved needless! There is great valetparking service (same price as self-parking) and your car is in a seperate section behind gates, so nothing to worry about!
There is a lovely swimmingpool with hot-tub on a roof terrace and a marketplace just around the corner with fresh bread etc.
If we ever return to the lovely city of vancouver we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We just returned from a three night stay and loved every minute of it. We've stayed at many different hotels on weekend getaways from Seattle and we've finally found one that we would love to stay at again! The location is perfect - you can walk to Robson or Yaletown easily. More impressive though was the hotel itself. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our first room (the air conditioning unit vibrated loudly) and the staff helped us find a new one quickly. The outdoor spaces were wonderful (ask for a room on the pool side) and because it is a small hotel, easily accessible. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat breakfast at the hotel and will say that during our stay valet parking was unnecessary as we found parking on the street plentiful.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2009

From the time you are ushered into this lovely,luxurious hotel in Vancouver, 'til you leave,the friendly,courteous staff treat you as one of the family. The joy of being in a smaller hotel is the personalized service at every level. There are no "hordes" of people rushing to get an elevator or pushing you out of the way to get a luggage cart,etc. The lovely, decorated ,marble lobby,along with the helpful, friendly staff treats every guest as someone special. We explained that we were leaving in a couple of days on an Alaskan cruise. We were offered ideas ,brochures and suggestions for sight-seeing trips. In fact, we signed up and cancelled a trip twice and the young lady at the front desk who helped us,never lost her smile.We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we felt it was too expensive. However, there was a restaurant and lovely patio bar across the street and a "boutique" IGA on the street level with a deli,coffee,tea and breakfast "sandwiches". There were tables and chairs on Robson street to sit and people-watch. The hotel has a lovely rooftop heated pool and spa outside a well-decorated lounge on the fifth floor. The rooftop also had a number of potted trees,statues,tables and chairs. Our room had patio doors opening out to a private,tree-surrounded patio. A great place to sip a glass of wine and re-live the day's adventures.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyOntari0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay here. We bused from Horseshoe Bay and got off literally a half block from the hotel (West Georgia & Seymore). The check-in was very smooth and quick and we were upgraded (no charge) to a deluxe studio because the studio we had booked was not quite clean yet. Nice touch!

I would like to say that the elevators are probably the quickest ones we have EVER used! The room was immaculate and spacious. There was a fireplace, but too warm to give that a whirl this time.

The front desk staff & conceirge were MOST accommodating. Raymond at the front helped us a few times by booking a Grouse Mountain Tour for us and finding out bus times/locations for our departure.

The location of the hotel is perfect! A five minute walk to BC Place, a block to the Robson Street shopping & restaurants galore!

It was a bit of a hike, but we walked from the hotel to the Seawalk down by Canada Place and then the whole way around the Seawalk through Stanley Park and back to the hotel. It was a beautiful day but by the end, we were pretty exhausted! The Kingston Grill directly across the street was very nice and also recommended by hotel staff. It was a 'perfect' location for our tired feet. It is a bit 'pub-ish' but exactly what we wanted. Had good service and great food. We sat outside upstairs, which was very nice.

Overall, our experience at the L'Hermitage was an outstanding hotel that we will most definitely return to, as well as recommend it to our friends & family!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandcharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Very nice property. Very chic and modern. Really nice marble bathroom --nice toiletries. The staff are very helpful. My only complaint was the breakfast -- VERY expensive buffet and not much to choose from -- lots of restaurants on Robson so not a problem if you have time to go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maldivesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,009 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,659 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,446 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,279 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing