We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Don't Really Want to Share This Wonderful Secret”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“I Don't Really Want to Share This Wonderful Secret”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I loved this charming hotel, which was far more like a private residence (it actually is a private residence for some condo owners). It is in the heart of downtown Vancouver...with easy access to Granville Island and other features. Here's why we loved it:

1) It is beautifully finished and furnished. Our one-bedroom suite was extraordinarily nice.
2) It was a fabulous value...priced far less than I would expect for such a property
3) The service was friendly, prompt, and professional

You can't go wrong here...it's that simple. One minor note -- we were warned about noise from construction directly across the street from our room. It did not bother us one bit, but we appreciated the forewarning!

PS: We arrived at 9:30 p.m. and there was no room service available. Fortunately, there were a number of restaurants open that were relatively close to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pd2think
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,248
    379
    62
    14
    10
See reviews for
650
2,151
151
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, NM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We loved it! The service was great, the room was very clean and modern. We really wanted to stay longer than two nights. The staff really helped with directions and where to go and what to do. This place really is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjmNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed in L'Hermitage for 4 nights from 23rd July.
We had just completed a 12 day Escorted Tour of the Rockies, Vancouver & Vancouver Island.
Without any doubt this was the best hotel we have stayed in, in Canada.
They have a great customer focus with personal attention and the highest service standards.
I will mention a number of staff members in particular , but would emphasise that all the team provide a 5 star service and attention to detail, Front Desk Manager Tony, Chief Concierge Raymond, and especially Jean-Michael the General Manager
Breakfasts were excellant
Rooms immaculate
Thank you for an amazing stay.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the swimming pool have a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 601crs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife and I were finishing a trip from Alaska and we landed in Vancouver. L'Hermitage hotel was perfect for our stay! The rooms are beautiful and the bathroom was spacious. The staff is friendly but it was the concierge who made sure our 3 days in Vancouver were used well. This gentleman offered us ideas, maps to get there, and how to purchase tickets with discounts were a few of the wonderful things he did for us. It was his suggestions that guided our tour through the city. The hotel kindly offered us an umbrella to use when t was raining and there are bicycles to use (we didn't use them and I'm not sure of the specifics...but they were there!). The last day of our trip the hotel held our bags and made sure there was a cab waiting to take us to the airport. It's one of the nicer hotels we've stayed in and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radiodj39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed with my family for 3 nights at this hotel and we loved it. It is not fancy, but the apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated. Service is friendly and location is great. Price was also great. Loved it.

Room Tip: The one and two bedroom suites are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This property ticks all the boxes. The staff are really friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

The room/apartment was well fitted out, comfortable, air conditioned, and spotless.

I highly recommend this place to anyone intending to stay in Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schinveld, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very complete suite with a modern kitchen with all utilities, a wash machine and dryer.
The employees are very friendly. We got good advices from the concierge about which trips we could plan and which restaurant to choose and he made the reservations for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyBorger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,881 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,379 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,513 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing