We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot say enough about this hotel & staff”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the staff as good as you will ever find & the concierge will go to extraordinary lengths to ensure you get the most out of your visit to Vancouver. I highly recommend it!
Note - adjoining property undergoing construction right now so ask for a room away from facing construction if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dwerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,897 - 1,903 of 3,986 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

A great city to visit. Lots to see and do for all ages. L'Hermitage made the trip all the more fabulous. Bedrooms are modern, kept very clean and well equipped. Double doors led to a large bathroom with separate bath and shower. Public lounge is a joy, with large sofas and chairs. Breakfast was excellent and you could sit outside on the patio - lovely. Staff very friendly, very helpful without exception. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: They put me in the back to avoid noise from building work on the front. Slept like a baby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clare526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were here for three days in a suite. The room was beautifully appointed, and the bathroom was a treat with both rainfall shower and bathtub. The staff here are excellent. We had maid service twice per day, turndown, extra detergent and toiletries upon request, and all done cheerfully and quickly. We brought bikes, which they stored for us and brought in and out efficiently, and again, cheerfully. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Some people in reviews have mentioned the construction. We found it to not even be noticeable, the double glazed windows kept the sound out very effectively. The pool was very enjoyable for our kids, especially since it was hot in Vancouver when we were here. There was also poolside drink and snack service. The outside terrace for breakfast and for afternoon snack as and drinks was also a great place to unwind after a day of sightseeing. Vancouver,the city, is pretty expensive. The rates at this hotel are a great deal when you see what you get, and when you compare to other hotels with lesser offerings, which are more expensive. The location is also great. There is an IGA market half a block away, and you can walk to all major attractions. It's not a fluke this hotel is Number one on tripadvisor for Vancouver!

Room Tip: We loved the amenities of the suite, and it was not much more than the regular room. Reserve early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Angewaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We chose this hotel on the strength of its reviews and we were not disappointed. From first to last interaction with the impeccably trained staff we were impressed. Beautiful two room suite , tastefully appointed rooms, private open air balcony , awesome. This is a must visit for the discerning traveller, an oasis of refinement in a modern city. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suite 657 , has a outside balcony , sit and take in the fresh air and enjoy the sunset over the busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

One of the highlights of our Vancouver stay was the L'Hermitage Hotel. It lived up to its rave reviews. Good location, very comfortable and large rooms and a wonderful 5th floor patio and pool. Of particular note was the staff. Whether it was our breakfast or a cocktail in the evening, the service was attentive and delightful. The concierge was extremely helpful and ready with maps and coupons. The front desk answered all our needs. Free bikes and wi-fi were extra perks.
We had three rooms and everyone was more than satisfied. Great value for sure. Be sure and ask for a corner room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank noni40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

From the welcome when you arrive, the beautifully appointed large rooms, attentive concierge only too keen to assist, this hotel was impeccable. Great location. Walk to yaletown and catch the aqua bus to Granville island markets; jump on one of the hotel bikes and ride to Stanley park. We loved l'hermitage and vancouver

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freqtrav042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

L'Hermitage lives up to its TripAdvisor ratings. I am a very fussy guest and I have only positive things to say about this hotel. The staff, in front and back of the house, is completely guest centered. As a former Director of Training for Marriott, I can comfortably say, the staff's interest and service is not canned, but authentic. Cleanliness is critical to my OCD personality, and this is one of the few hotel experiences I have had in over 40 years that I have no complaints. The room was and remained perfectly cleaned during our week stay. This was not my first trip to Vancouver, a city of many magical neighborhoods. L'Hermitage is centrally located. We walked everywhere. No need for taxis if you are robust walkers. Our boutique room and patio was perfect. The layout comfortable. With an IGA grocery on the corner we enjoyed "at home" breakfasts each morning. L'Hermitage is a sure bet for anyone seeking a great hotel experience while in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio that faces away from construction on Richards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,158 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,760 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,789 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $199 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing