We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is No 1 for a reason”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We treated ourself to this hotel as part of a long holiday and you can definitely understand why it is rated #1 in Vancouver. Superb room and facilities, reasonable price (for a high end hotel) and staff for whom nothing is too much trouble and who are all incredibly friendly and polite.

Perhaps a little off the beaten track but perfectly located. Homer St has some good food, a couple of blocks to BC Place/Rogers Arena or shopping.

If you are flying in, then light rail is definitely doable. Just go from the airpot to Vancouver city centre stop and walk a couple of blocks. Two of use did it with a big bag and a hand luggage each. Gives you a great base for a few days.

Room Tip: All are good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,879)
There are newer reviews for L'Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,864 - 1,870 of 3,879 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

Three adults plus one infant in the Signature Suite at L'Hermitage Vancouver equals perfection. The modern suite - two double bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, dining and sitting areas, study and massive balcony - made our stay in this wonderful city. The suite was so good, with the fully equipped kitchen, that we saw little of the rest of the hotel, other than the lobby, where the staff were attentive, charming, and always ready to help or give advice. L'Hermitage is well-placed for exploration, and many attractions are within easy walking distance. As other travellers have noted, there is construction work opposite the hotel, but as we were at the back, above the saltwater pool, it didn't impinge on us. Three days in Vancouver, and this hotel, just wasn't enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Booked several rooms for my daughters wedding. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Lots of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Small hotel so not too busy. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for a few nights during my honeymoon. loved the hotel and the staff was great! Tony was exceptionally great as he was very helpful and nice. I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: call in to check rates as well as online
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our daughters wedding. Staff were very helpful and extremely friendly. Will definitely stay there again. Outdoor pool and terrace to have breakfast was very quaint. Only 3 blocks to shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: I think the 1 bedroom suite was very spacious.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank randombagcheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is beautiful but we had a diffi ult time checking in. We arrived early from our cruise and was told we couldn't check in until 4:00. We walked to Stanley Park around 9:00 A.M. and returned around 1:30. The valet welcomed us back and we sat in the lobby. People came in and were also told they couldn't check in until 4...we patiently waited and finally we asked about our room. They were surprised that we were there waiting because we had checked in the morning. Anyway went went to our room and our bags were already there. It was frustrating. The coach and chairs in the living area are very uncomfortable. The bed is comfy. We rated it high but were were frustrated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBJ1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Love the hotel. Decent location, only a short walk to waterfront and the train station. Rooms were very nice - clean, quiet, comfortable. They upgraded us to a bigger room due to construction on Richards street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,066 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,693 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,497 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $197 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing