We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Love the hotel. Decent location, only a short walk to waterfront and the train station. Rooms were very nice - clean, quiet, comfortable. They upgraded us to a bigger room due to construction on Richards street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,294
    384
    65
    14
    10
See reviews for
666
2,183
152
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

So they are rated the best hotel in Vancouver, and I can see why. The location is really good, in the center of the city, 10-15 min walk to the water front and near hop on bus locations. The hotel is spotless, very clean room, really comfortable bed and pillows. Nice espresso machine in the room too. We also got upgraded to a suite which was an unexpected surprise. I had asked them for a room not facing the construction happening on one side of the street, and I suspect this is the reason for the upgrade but I never brought it up because they had met my request by not giving us a room with that view, so was happy either way.

Breakfast was really good, nice choice with hot and cold food options, fine for vegetarians (which I am). No problems with the car valet service either, we were here for 2 days/nights and didn't need the car so after leaving the car to them, they parked it and we didn't need it again before we left.

It is a little expensive here, however less rated hotels in the area are more, so would certainly recommend this hotel if you want to help enjoy your stay in Vancouver, especially with favorable dollar/pound exchange rate if coming from the UK like us. It is certainly value for money overall considering the service they provide. One of the best (if not probably THE best) hotels I've ever stayed in. I hope to return to Vancouver in a few years and would hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlAndJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This is rightly high up the trip advisor list of Vancouver hotels. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. The location is fine for a short stay and easy to reach from the airport on Canada line. The Kingston inn over the road provides a very good dinner. The staff are very helpful and courteous. And finally the price is well below most other hotels of this standard in Vancouver making it a bit of a bargain.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank win12chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We (5 of us + baby) stayed the last 5 days. The rooms were great, had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Any query was answered promptly. This is an excellent hotel and I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I JUST checked into this hotel and it has been so amazing already, I had to review.
We arrived early and with our room not ready yet, they took it upon themselves to take care of us until it was!! Patio lounge with drinks and incredible service, I feel like I am a celebrity. Room is so clean and spacious! Chocolates arrived at our door minutes later as a gift for my birthday. How cool is that extra touch?
Friendly staff who await the opportunity to serve us is what makes this place the best. The details like chilling my wine GLASS and having my luggage delivered promptly is a great touch that people remember. You always remember how one makes you feel and this place sure sets my birthday weekend off on a perfect note!!
Stay if you seek the best.
Mandi W

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeekendGetaways2_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We booked this hotel as a result of looking at a lot of reviews on Tripadvisor. We booked a Boutique room and it certainly lived up to expectations. There was building work at the front of the hotel and they gave us a room at the back away from any building noise. We stayed in room 652. This is a modern room with en-suite bathroom and walk in shower. The bath was next to the shower cubicle and my wife thought the bath was a bit on the small side.

Staff were fantastic. Helpful, polite and accommodating. Although we had to book out of the room at 12:00 we could leave our cases at the hotel for us to collect later on thereby fitting in more shopping time.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iknowaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Following the experience of others who posted about this hotel on tripadvisor, we booked and stayed for 2 nights in a nice 2 bedroom suite with a big balcony/terrace, that was able to comfortably accommodate our large family. Our experience was nothing short of exceptional. This boutique hotel beats the big chains in every department - from Raymond, the experienced and super-helpful concierge; free and fast WiFi; helpful/courteous staff; very nicely equipped business center to prompt service when needed. The location is perfect and walking distance to all the major attractions. We would stay here again for sure, given the opportunity and would advice others to do the same.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a larger room, their 2 bedroom suite on the 7th floor offers a large balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,951 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,623 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,414 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,235 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing