We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay with the family!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay with the family!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel over the March Break. We took our 2 teenagers and had a wonderful time in Vancouver. The hotel was located so close to everything we wanted or just a short drive away. The service was lovely and the rooms were near perfect. When we return to Vancouver, we will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TO-ski-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,142
    370
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
632
2,084
142
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary,Alberta,Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great Hotel!!!!, perfect location, very clean, very quiet, lovely beds, just a good feeling when i stay here! will be back again, and again! great staff. i have stayed at other spots in this price range nothing compares!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very good service and excellent value for money!
Location is very central, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I couldn't find any movie channels (but didn't really look hard for it) and the gym wasn't very big, but I would book it again if I would need a hotel in Vancouver. Very happy customer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Thank you L'Hermitage for a wonderful stay! My boyfriend and I stayed for only two nights for a quick weekend getaway from April 25 to April 27 in the Boutique Room. I wanted a suite but by the time I booked the room it was already sold out, although I still loved the room. It faced the street with the construction but we were not bothered with any noise. Before our stay I emailed the hotel asking them questions and I was surprised at how quickly and graciously they responded to my questions. They were extremely helpful and once I checked in they were just as nice in person. I really enjoy boutique hotels and this is definitely at the top of my list.

This was our first time visiting Vancouver and the location of the hotel is fantastic. We walked everywhere we wanted to go. I absolutely love this city, especially coming from Los Angeles where there's always traffic and all that nonsense! I loved walking and biking around the city. We stayed for such a short time that we didn't use any of the amenities but we will definitely be back again. Next time, I'll make sure to book the suite! My first time in Vancouver was such a wonderful experience and I am grateful for L'Hermitage for making my stay a great one. I must also say that Canadians are very nice people!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at L'Hermitage Hotel for four nights in April 2014 and agreed that everything about our visit was perfect. This hotel is located in a great spot downtown: on Richards but just a few steps away from Robson, where you'll find restaurants and shopping galore.

Directly downstairs of the hotel is a Marketplace, which made things really convenient for us to buy water and munchies.

Also directly downstairs is a Tim Horton's, so we had delicious coffee every morning. The hotel room had a Nespresso machine. We didn't use it, but I thought it was a nice touch. The hotel also serves a hot breakfast buffet, but it's pretty steep at $19.50 per person.

The staff was very friendly, but it was the service we received from the bell desk was extra and genuinely nice.

This hotel must have thick walls or something, because not once were we bothered by noise from any other party.

The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom nice and spacious! The toilet was separate from the sink/bathtub, which is my favorite setup. There is a luxurious bathtub AND a separate shower!

Check-out time is noon, which is great for us on vacation and like to sleep in on the last day!

Our favorite part about L'Hermitage was that they have two nice Specialized bikes (in good shape) for rent at no cost, for four-hour increments at a time. The bell desk is ready with locks, backpacks, and bike maps for you. What a great added-value. Be sure to reserve your bikes ahead of time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostMyMarbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.It began with us missing the hotel as we tried to find it and the bell boy was just returning from his break and asked us where we wanted to go.We told him and he helped me with my bags even though he was on a break from work.
It was only 10am in the morning but although we could not check in they sent us to their lounge area for complimentary drinks.
There was a false fire alarm in the night and they gave us a $50 credit from our bill to say sorry from the unintended wake up call in the middle of the night.
The accommodation was comfortable.We broke up our stay with a night in Whistler and they upgraded us on our return to an apartment room with laundry and cooking facilities.The furnishings were very modern.
The concierge was very informative as to where to go .
Same bellboy when leaving was very attentive helping us get a taxi and put all our luggage in the taxi.There were four of us with two pieces of luggage each.

Room Tip: Pick the room with laundry and kitchenette.-two bedroom signature suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My partner and I where staying in Vancouver (our favorite weekend getaway spot) for a few days to celebrate her birthday, and after having carefully planned most of our trip to take advantage of the "beVancouver" promotion that was being run by many of the properties in the city, I decided to add additional night stay (Sunday) to our itinerary when I saw what great rates were being offered here at the L'Hermitage (to be clear, this property was NOT part of the "beVancouver" promotion we took advantage of at two other hotels, but was running an excellent rate the same weekend)

Boy, am I glad I did.

The first thing that struck us was the entrance. We actually drove by it the first time without noticing, because it is so restrained. Looking more carefully the second time around the block, we both commented how it was perfect - perfectly classy without being grandiose, easy to overlook unless you were looking for it, yet everything you'd expect for a world class boutique property. Sort of like the simple but incredibly elegant little black dress of hotel entrances...

There were only a few more steps taken when we were again incredibly impressed by the lobby. Small, understated, but so classy...so beautiful. Just....tasteful. We actually stopped to take a picture of my GF (it was her birthday) - something we have never done before.

Once we arrived on our floor, again...impressed. The glass walled lounge, with the staircase and bookshelves were the perfect offset to the row of rooms entries on the other side furnished / decorated in a very modern yet classy and understand way. I don't know that I have eve been impressed by a hotel's HALLWAY before, but I was this time.

Noticing a pattern?

The room? Yes - lovely. Not over the top, but...lovely. French doors into the bathroom (only compliant - the doors were misaligned and difficult to open and close...we actually couldn't believe it given how perfect everything else was) that had a separate room for the actual commode / toilet area apart from the shower (with separate soaking tub) and vanity area. Marble everywhere. Well lit. Classy.

The rest of the room? Well, there was the balcony / patio area, complete with nicest outdoor furniture (chairs and table) I have ever seen. There was the in-room electric fireplace. The oh how so convenient EMPTY small refrigerator hidden away in the dresser unit (why don't more hotels do that - offer a small refrigerator that isn't stuffed with over priced booze?) . The comfortable bed. The comfortable sofa to lounge on.

And the staff? Amazing. As helpful and friendly as could be.

Summary - yes, this place is a bit pricey...I don't know if we would be willing to pay the sort of rates I saw when I check for other weekends before writing this review...but for out stay (which was at about 2/3 the typical rate it seems) it was a good value, and more over EVERYTHING exceeded expectations. We travel to Vancouver 2 or 3 times every year for getaway weekends, and you can be assured I will be checking rates at the L'Hermitage before booking anything anywhere else...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGoBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing