We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Occasion Made Even Better”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Circle Pines, Minnesota
1 review
“Special Occasion Made Even Better”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My new wife and I stayed at the L'Hermitage for our honeymoon and could not have been more pleased with our stay. The staff at the hotel made every effort to make sure that our stay was a great experience and were incredibly friendly. Any time we needed anything the service was prompt and courteous. In addition to the fine staff, the hotel concierge was superb and was there to make our trip to Vancouver pleasant and worry free. Whether we needed a taxi or hotel reservations, he was there to make sure that the plans we made for the day were carried out to the letter and went above and beyond anything we expected. One night we forgot to make reservations for dinner and he was able to get us in to one of the best restaurants in town, no problem. Everyone at this hotel did a wonderful job helping my wife and I. If I ever go back to Vancouver, my first choice will be the L’Hermitage Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,259
    379
    62
    14
    10
See reviews for
653
2,159
151
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel rightly deserves all of the positive reviews on here.

The location is perfect, rooms (we stayed in a One Bedroom Boutique Suite) spacious, clean and very well appointed and public areas very nicely decorated. Quite apart from all of that, all of the staff that we encountered, without exception, are absolutely brilliant. I have never stayed in a hotel where each and every staff member was so happy to help and go out of their way to provide "that little bit more" to ensure your stay is perfect.

For what it's worth, we ventured into the Shangri-La for dinner during our stay in Vancouver, and (based on our limited experience of that hotel) were glad to return to L'Hermitage afterwards!

Truly outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The L'Hermitage continues to be our favourite hotel in Vancouver. Love their staff-always friendly, courteous and professional
We have stayed there many times and their great service is consistent. Highly recommend this hotel.@

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauitime2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Staff got to know us very quickly and always greeted us when they saw us. We stayed in a boutique suite with a balcony, bedroom, living room, kitchenette & bathroom. Rooms very clean, high standard of furnishings. Breakfast good, bit pricey but can eat as much as you like. All the staff were very helpful. If its raining there are always brollys available at reception for loan. Central position close to shopping. Seawater pool available and jacuzzi. High quality bedlinen, towels and bathrobes. Very responsive room service. When we rang to get a problem sorted out the member of staff was there within one minute to come and fix it. Room safes available.

Room Tip: Ask for a boutique suite 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildlife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The most courteous ,pleasant and helpful service we have ever had (though I must mention the Park Hotel in Tokyo as a match), this was a master class in how to pamper your guests at a classy hotel. Treat yourself to one of the Signature Suites at L'Hermitage. You wont regret it.Yes there is a lot of construction going on across the road, but it will pass. Ask for a high floor, facing away from the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the building site across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Fabulous hotel with very large rooms/suites. Our luggage was delayed for a day and the staff just couldn't do enough to help. Ranks 1st equal with StRegis in Vancouver for us and we've tried a few. A 10 minute walk from Gastown and a little less from the shopping area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rrr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Arrived on a Saturday after a cruise from Alaska. Even though we had notified the hotel ahead of time that we would like an early check-in, they were not able to get us into our suite until after 3:00pm. This is not to fault the hotel, this is just to say that they are always fully booked. The wonderfully, attentive staff escorted us to a comfortable lounge, took our luggage, gave us complimentary coffee, water, soda and tea, and also gave us directions for "things to do" in Vancouver. The hotel is centrally located in the City, a block from Library Square, and is on public transportation and the Hop-on, Hop-off buses/trolleys. The suite was spacious, comfortable and clean. We had a balcony, however there was construction going on across the street, which might deter some from sitting outside. The on-site restaurant was undergoing changes and was closed, but is to re-open soon as a Tapas restaurant. Every member of the staff was eager to please. Ask for Raymond for tips of things to do in Vancouver.
One negative: Several members of our group enjoyed the buffet breakfast. However, be forewarned, if you join for just coffee, you will be charged ($20) for a full breakfast.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, which is the floor where the breakfast buffet is located, as well as the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artsletters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,890 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,385 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,520 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing