We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quaint...”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quaint...”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After searching Trip Advisor we decided on the L'Hermitage Hotel in Vancouver for a two night stay during a road trip we were taking with friends. I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the valet service who helped us several times on directions. I can see why this hotel was up on top of the list for Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxnsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,308
    384
    65
    14
    10
See reviews for
669
2,192
153
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This by far the best hotel we have ever been at in Canada. Service was very attentive, the room was large and well appointed, the bath was huge, the pool and hot tub perfect and the location very quiet for downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband & I based ourselves at L'Hermitage in July 2013, spending several nights at this great hotel upon arrival in Vancouver, and again upon returning from a trip to Seattle, and a final night after visiting the Sunshine Coast.

We booked the "Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice Awards Package" - great value for money. The hotel is in a good location downtown, the valet parking is efficient and very convenient.

The service provided by all of the staff we met was professional, friendly, courteous and beyond the call of duty. I cannot thank them enough for all they did to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable.

We look forward to returning to Vancouver in the near future, and will certainly be returning to this fine establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLBB-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at L'Hermitage for 3 nights and found the room to be clean, very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. We were on the same floor as the pool and had a nice, private patio. The construction was not an issue as it was on the other side of the hotel. The staff are attentive, personable and professional. The concierge, Raymond, was very helpful as was Mary Ann at the front desk.

We will stay here on our next visit to Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoRoselady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is immaculately clean. Prefect location. We rented a suite and it was well equiped with kitchen (high end appliances) but we did not cook. It has washer and drier and we have two bathrooms, which makes life easier. The location cannot be better and the valet service was great. People are very friendly and it is a prefect home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixel_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at L'Hermitage on our recent trip to Vancouver and really enjoyed our stay. We were in a Boutique Solarium room on the 6th floor. The room was very spacious with a full kitchen, large bath, stacked washer and dryer, and a small sun room adjacent to the main room. There were two large closets, as well. The king sized bed was very comfortable with nice linens and pillows. The bathroom was stocked with nice, fluffy towels, with extras provided under the sink. My only complaint about the bathroom is that there was no where to store personal toiletries except under the sink. A small shelf over the toilet would have been nice. Otherwise, the room was perfect, and housekeeping kept it spotless.

The staff here is very friendly and helpful. The concierge provided excellent dining recommendations and offered to make reservations. The front desk staff was welcoming and accommodating, as were the servers at breakfast. We didn't eat at the attached restaurant, but we did have breakfast in the breakfast room and it was beautiful, and the food was delicious, especially for buffet food.

There has been much discussion about the construction going on across the street in prior reviews, so we knew to expect it, but it would probably keep me from staying here again until its a little further along. The day we arrived, a Saturday, the street in front of our hotel was closed, so the cab driver had to drop us off on a cross street. When we tried to go out later, the sidewalk was even blocked due to a large crane over the street. There was no work done on Sunday, but it started at 7:30am on Monday and was still going on when we returned to the room before dinner at 6:30pm. We could definitely hear clanging noises, etc. from the room. I am hyper semsitive to noise, so what others me may not other others. I also understand that the hotel has no control over this, but while this is going on it is a negative.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Delightful boutique hotel in the heart of Vancouver. A great location and well-appointed, spotless and spacious room. So much more personal and friendly than one of the big chains. Welcoming staff and excellent service at breakfast where the food was delicious and the breakfast terrace comfortable. Stayed four days and wish it had been more. Will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank has2bperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,631 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,421 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,238 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing