We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 in Vancouver”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived to the hotel early...like 9am early after a cruise.
We would have been happy having the bell desk hold our luggage but instead, we were told "how was your cruise, glad to have you with us, we have an upgraded room ready for you".
The upgraded room just happened to be the top floor corner room with a two street view of the city.
Huge room with full kitchen. It was a shame we were only in Vancouver for 24hrs.
Great service from start to finish. Beautiful room & overall amenities throughout the property are suburb.
One of the best hotel experiences we've ever had.
I was debating a few hotels before booking & the reviews sold me- so after this experience I will trust Trip Advisor picks even more.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicandFawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,525 - 2,531 of 4,016 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

L'Hermitage was a great hotel - we booked it for 3 nights for an anniversary trip to Vancouver. We chose this hotel over the Four Seasons and have absolutely no regrets.

The hotel is great, breakfast in L'Orangerie was excellent, champagne poolside was fun.
A couple notes - the location is close to everything (we walked to waterfront, gastown, yaletown, even to Grainville island). The hotel has bikes - definitely take advantage of them, so fun to ride the seawall in Stanley Park.

Raymond is the Concierge - he is amazing. Great resource for almost anything you want to do in vancouver and surrounding areas... Restaurant recommendations were good and the service levels at the hotel are extremely high.

Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Floor 5 is Poolside (small balconies) where floors 6-7 do not have the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights from 27/4. reception was very friendly and helpful Room was comfortable and clean, the fire place is a bit of a silly really seeing as its electric and could be done without. We had aroom to the front and unfortunately there is construction work going on over the street so it was VERY noisy in the morning so if you are staying here on a week day you will be awoken early so ask for a room away from the street .There is a note apologising for this, thankfully we only had one day of this as we were leaving on the Monday. Breakfast is 19 dollars and is not too bad there is a nice selection small but fine. For 19 dollars you may as well go out and have breakfast. There was very few people staying here when we were there so maybe at this time of year you may as well ring them and ask for a price instead of using websites.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the construction work that is going on across from the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boxtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We never have been to Vancouver before and left wondering how we could have missed out all these years on such a wonderful city. Our five-night stay at L'Hermitage was excellent. You sometimes wonder what the fuss is all about, but it's all true. The service is as good as at any hotel we've ever been to, even more personal because the hotel is small. We reserved a suite with king bed and no kitchen but called ahead to request we not be on the construction side (yes, there is construction and it looks like it will be going on for several years). The front desk upgraded us for no extra charge to a larger suite with kitchen on the side overlooking the pool. Only difference was we had queen bed instead of king. No problem with us! The pool and hot tub were good -- we had great weather for the first four days -- as was the small gym. We didn't eat breakfast there but everyone seems to rave about it. L'Hermitage is perfectly located, about 10-minute walk from Yaletown in one direction and Gastown in the other. There's an IGA supermarket on the corner and the Kingston Taproom right across the street, next to the construction site. We'd go back to L'Hermitage in a heartbeat ...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here in April, a few hiccups with the aircon in our suite, after a couple of days we were upgraded to a huge suite. Excellent customer service, a breakfast to die for and all in all a very well maintained, well furnished boutique hotel. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Construction going on Richards St but noise is not too bad on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shahla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at L'Hermitage in May while attending a course. We stayed in the "Petite boutique room" which was big enough with a king bed and lovely little patio. I requested a quiet room when booking and they did their best to accommodate this . The chocolates every night was a nice touch . Location is perfect- close to Canada line station and all attractions but somewhat away from the hustle and bustle of Granville Street. I can't wait to stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mvw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our first time at this hotel. The service was great. The rooms were very well appointed. The hotel is in an excellent downtown location. Every staff member that we encountered was very professional and very customer focused. It was very easy to get to the hotel using the sky train from the airport. It was only a two block walk. Since Vancouver is such a nice city to walk and the public transportation is very good, we did not need a rental car for our 4 day visit. We will certainly stay at the L'Hermitage on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opg1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,185 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,789 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,802 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $191 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing