We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was such a wonderful surprise for us. We walked from the cruise ship with suitcase in tow for a few days stay in Vancouver. We booked based on reviews and proximity to downtown and the cruise port. All I can say is WOW!!!! This is such a wonderful hotel at every level. The rooms and public rooms are beautiful and comfortable. I am the original Princess and the Pea type of person when it comes to beds. All I can say is Fabulous!!! The staff is absolutely amazing. Be sure to use the expertise of the concierge. They really know their stuff and are very helpful and kind. This is a five star hotel with such a warm feeling. We loved it and would not only recommend to our friends but would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I did not use the spa facilities so I have no comment on them. I think all rooms would be just wond...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFreiLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,880)
There are newer reviews for L'Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,567 - 2,573 of 3,880 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

First time staying at L'Hermitage. The hotel went far beyond our expectations on service, accommodations, and location! The level of service was far better than any Ritz or Four Seasons we have ever stayed in! We had our kids with us and the staff made us all feel welcome attending to our every need. Our one bedroom suite was perfect and very convenient with kitchen. We had fun swimming in the heated outdoor pool and spa. Great restaurants all within walking distance and market around the corner. Really a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afsanehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at L'Hermitage for 2 nights, on a stop-over from New Zealand to London. We picked it based on the rave reviews, and it did not disappoint. I had asked for a room with a view, but the hotel is only 5 stories high, so rooms don't have great views. Instead, they gave us an amazing corner room, with windows out the front, and all along the side. The room was huge, with a little (fake) fireplace and lounge area, a huge and comfortable bed, and great bathroom. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The service was impeccable. Mary Anne at the front desk was incredibly friendly and hugely helpful, giving us suggestions, pointing things out on a map, recommending restaurants, etc...

We had breakfast at the hotel one morning, which was fresh with plenty of choice, though a bit overpriced we felt ($19 each). We're used to breakfast being included, so it seemed like quite a bit of an added expense on top of the room charge. We ate at the restaurant Q4 Al Centro (attached to the Hotel) one night, and had impeccable service there as well.

One of the highlights of the hotel is the rooftop heated pool and hot tub. We went for a dip, outdoors, in the early evening, in spite of it being winter and quite cold. It was fun to do, and incredibly relaxing, looking up at the night sky and surrounding buildings. Bathrobes and towels were provided. It felt like a nice little luxury, soaking in an outdoor hot tub, especially as we had just gotten off of a long haul flight.

All in all, we were very impressed with the hotel and had a great experience. The only downside was that our room wasn't ready for check-in until 4pm (we arrived at 2pm) but they held our bags for us, and offered access to the hotel lounge (which has a bar, fireplace, books, television). We took advantage of that time to go and see a bit of the city before settling in. We were also welcome to use the lounge the evening we checked out (late check-out wasn't possible that day, as the hotel was fully booked), as our flight out had been delayed until midnight. We sat by the fireplace and sipped tea before heading out to airport, which was a lovely and very relaxing way to end our trip...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family stayed in a two-bedroom suite at the L'Hermitage in Vancouver for five nights at the end of January 2013. It was a bit of a splurge for us, but we got a great package that included breakfast and parking.

The rooms were immaculate and spacious for me, my husband, and two grown kids. The kitchen came in handy for a few dinners; it was very convenient to pick up food from the market on the same block. And, we had a balcony overlooking the pool. We used the jacuzzi twice--unfortunately, there was sand or dirt in the jacuzzi that wasn't cleaned up after I told the front desk about it. The fitness room was fine--we used treadmill, bikes, weights and weight machine.

The location was great---convenient walk to Granville Island, downtown, Yaletown, Chinatown. The hotel had two free bikes that we used to ride to Stanley Island---a must see! Used our own car to drive to Capilano Bridge...a nice hiking, outdoor experience.

The buffet of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, bagels, smoked salmon, yogurt, and pastries were delicious. The one minor complaint I have about the breakfast is that I would have preferred fresh whole fruit, such as apples and bananas to the out-of-season cut melons that were offered.

The best part about the hotel was Raymond the concierge. Raymond genuinely enjoys his job and is proud of his city---he is a wealth of information and was great at making suggestions and giving directions. He even flexed his concierge muscles by obtaining a dinner reservation that was not available on Open Table! Because of his personal attention, we really felt Raymond wanted to ensure we had a great time.

Everything came together (including the weather) to make a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2seasidetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms, great service, great location. My friend and I loved our three day stay at this wonderful hotel. The room was spotless clean, comfortable, and quiet. Loved the Nespresso coffee machine right in the room. Staff are friendly and always very helpful. Everything is within walking distance. most importantly - its very affordable. Would book again or recommend to a friend in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlinaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We loved our recent stay at L'Hermitage Hotel. The location is superb. We were within walking distance of all the shopping, restaurants, ferry to Granville island and an easy walk to the Skytrain. We used the valet parking but really only used our car for travel to & from the airport and a trip to Stanley Park so didn't really need a car! The hotel is impeccably clean! The staff are all very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. The fitness room equipment is top notch. Will definitely stay there on our next trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poogie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great boutique hotel. Rooms good but staff excellent. Every staff member greeted us in a friendly manner. Raymond, the Concierge was fantastic. Great advice re restaurants, and sight seeing. He organised for complimentary bikes with helmets & backpacks for us to tour the city & seafront. The location is very central. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneAustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,070 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,694 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,499 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $195 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing