We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon hotel”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I went to L'Hermitage for part of our honeymoon, and got the expensive suite to celebrate. It was incredible! Very comfortable bed, two TVs, a deep bathtub, in-suite laundry machine and dryer, a full kitchenette with coffee and tea, and overall just perfect.

The service was outstanding, prompt, and helpful, with both requests and offering useful advice.

The location was fine, though there was construction nearby while we were there; the hotel offered an extra discount on their restaurant as compensation which we did not use.

A good exercise room (absent barbells), as a useful extra.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvergoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,891)
There are newer reviews for L'Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,679 - 2,685 of 3,891 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the time we walked in we loved the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite at no cost to us. The suite was perfect, high end stainless appliances, washer/dryer, flat screen t.v.'s, beautiful bathroom with separate bath and shower, separate office area and bedroom with high end linens and pillows. Everybody was extremely polite and helpful. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to friends and when we return to Vancouver there will be no need to check out other hotels, this is the one!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank British1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I visit Vancouver regularly. We have tried several other hotels, repeating several due to their location and service level. We decided to try something completely different this time through, and were absolutely thrilled on every level with L'Hermitage. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, the room VERY quiet. We were especially pleased with the linens. Our morning coffee is an important start to the day, and L'Hermitage out did themselves by offering our very own in room Nespresso machine - how lovely! The bathroom was also incredible - spacious, modern, with a large bath and glass shower - enabling two individuals to easily get ready at the same time. Cozy bath robes and slippers were also there for our use to slip down to the hot tub and pool area. This hotel has thought of everything. We will return again and again and again. Thank you to the staff for their friendly service; each and every one did their job to the highest standard.

Room Tip: Pool side was especially lovely. Next time we may ask for a balcony room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loubird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

At the end of a 40th wedding anniversary trip in BC, we stayed at this fabulous hotel. No stuffy staff here, just lovely, friendly, supportive people. Like staying with friends who have a very, very nice home. From the moment we were greeted, everyone went out of their way to make sure we had a delightful stay. Little welcome notes with nice chocolates was a nice touch. The rooms in this hotel are some of the best ever, bathrooms super with great rainshower and fabulous tubs. If you upgrade to a junior suite, the full kitchens are high-endstate of art and make you want to stay in and cook! The best concierge in town, hands down. Playful, friendly, and enormously helpful. This hotel is on the top 3 floors of the building so it is an aerie in the middle of the bustling city. Terrific lap pool and hot tub on the courtyard beautiful terrace. Backstroke the pool and watch the clouds scuttle between the surrounding towers of glass, magical.
Great location to walk or take public transportation - no need for a car. Lots of good restaurants from street food to upscale restaurants in the area. Breakfast is a disappointment, expensive, lavish but not very good although the service is great and in nice weather the terrace is lovely. Better and bargain breakfasts within walking distance of the hotel.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Courtyard side rooms are quieter and have a lovely view of the great pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have been to Vancouver quite a few times and stayed in different hotels, most of which were very good. When I was planning our holiday to Canada this year I chose L' Hermitage mostly because of the reviews on Trip Advisor but also because the price of their rooms compared extremely favourably with their competitors (they were cheaper!)

I was not disappointed.The room was great on the same floor as the breakfast room and very luxurious for the price. The service was second to none. We arrived slightly early and were immediately take to the breakfast room and offered a much appreciated cup of tea.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and if we ever visit Vancouver again would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillybeans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I completely understand why L'Hermitage gets such good ratings. The location is perfect as it is very near the city's pick up points for the Hop on Hop off Trolley as well as the Free Shuttle for Capilano Suspension Bridge. Front Desk, Doorman service and especially Raymond of Concierge were excellent. They were all willing to share their own dining discoveries besides the usual rated restaurants. The rooms, public areas and dining lounge were all very well appointed. Everything was just right. It's also located right beside a grocery store that stays open till midnight so it's easy to buy basic needs. There are good eateries across the street if you want a quick but satisfying meal, too. Friendly service all the way!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Culas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've stayed here a few times when in Vancouver for business. My experience has always been very positive, starting from the personal greeting I received my first time in the door. The rooms are clean, comfortable, modern and modestly decorated, with comfortable beds, and fabulously spacious and luxurious bathrooms. They put on a good breakfast buffet, with ample and healthy choices (although some variety from day to day would be good for those longer stays) and good service. I like the library and lounge space, and the gym is clean and well-equipped. I haven't tried the pool or bikes, yet. I was delighted with the turndown service, a small luxury I haven't seen in a hotel in much too long. Some rooms have balconies, which is great when the weather is good.
My only complaints are the inability to fully turn off the air conditioning fan and the complexity of the satellite TV system, which no one in the hotel seemed to know how to fix. However, these problems were minor. Also, there was no easily accessible 3-prong plug-in behind the desk, so I had to run my laptop cord across the hall; this could be easily fixed with the installation of an appropriate extension cord behind the desk.
This property is great value especially in the off-season, when rates drop significantly.
I look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: Rooms above the pool and spa (back side of the hotel) catch a bit of noise when there are people usi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,073 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $202 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing