We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome oasis after a long day”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A welcome oasis after a long day”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We arrived at L’Hermitage after a long, late flight, and the front desk clerk greeted us by name as we walked in the door. It’s true it was nearly 2:00 a.m. and we were the last guests of the night, but still. Awesome staff at this hotel. Awesome!

In town for a full week to attend a large conference, we elected to stay in this sweet boutique hotel rather than one of the big impersonal chains surrounding the convention center, and we made a brilliant choice. The walk to meetings was easy, and L’Hemitage was divine.

We chose the solarium room because of the full kitchen and washer and dryer. Updated and fitted with Bosch appliances, the kitchen was a welcome oasis after a long day. Wine glasses, espresso machine, creamer in the fridge, linen napkins in the drawer, and a gas-stove top. The IGA on the corner of Richards and Robson was well stocked with all the gourmet items we could want to snack on, and the liquor store just around the block had a fabulous selection. We had everything we might possibly need in our room, including the proverbial chocolates on the pillow each night.

The bed was an absolute cloud. Even though our sixth-floor room was on the street, and during this particular stay major construction of a large tower was occurring across the way, little noise entered the room. Plenty of closets, a deep bathtub, terry robes, slippers, the solarium, an extra meditation room, and a gas fireplace are some of the appreciated amenities in the room (#603).

Each day, I visited the outdoor lap pool and relished the warm salt-water and arching spray. The hot tub was well maintained and so was the steam room in the woman’s restroom. The fitness center is small but again had everything I wanted. Breakfast in L’Orangerie was worth the $17 charge, especially the salmon, croissants, terrific coffee, and fresh fruit.

Every day, I intended to borrow one of the hotel’s free bicycles and ride along the seawall walk and down around Stanley Park, but I never got to it! So much to see and do in this beautiful city, and the hotel’s location is close to it all.

All in all, L’Hermitage is a Vancouver treasure. I’d stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Several choices. Think about your needs and find the perfect fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,341
    389
    65
    14
    10
See reviews for
682
2,210
154
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

What a great place. Location was perfect for us. We stayed here. 2x during the week. First when we arrived in Vancouver, we were in Condo 705. It faced the pool. We liked the quiet of the unit. This hotel seems to have it all , Customer Service is the best. The entire staff said. Hello, or good morning, thank you for staying with us. Then we came back, after our trip to Victoria, and had room 602, facing Richards Street. There was some confusion with our reservation and we did change room, but it quickly was resolved, as a first rate hotel would handle this situation.

We liked the kitchen, the washing machine, and felt comfortable in the condo like unit.
every one at the front desk could answer a travel question, with a smile. This is customer service.

If you are visiting Vancouver, is is the place to stay! Thank youL'hermitage for a wonder stay. We will return.

Room Tip: Read reviews and read about the Hotel in Travel books. Check the location. Also read new and old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teach1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

A few small things were missing that prevent me from rating this hotel excellent. After doing some online research on Vancouver hotels, I was going to book through CAA, but then discovered the "Trip Advisor Travellers Choice Award Pkg" on the hotel website which seemed to be a better deal as it included breakfast, valet parking and 15% off in the the hotel restaurant. In hindsite I would have paid the same, as Valet parking is already complimentary to rooms with 2 guests (this according to the front desk staff when I asked them to explain the discount), and the restaurant was closed so couldn't take advantage of the 15%discount. So, the deal, isn't really a deal, but the price is still good for a downtown Vancouver hotel. The valet parking is the way to go, as the car is put in a secured parkade and you can walk pretty much anywhere you want to go. We booked the Boutique Room with the Fireplace. It faced the street so we didn't have much to look at (parkade), but didn't have a problem with noise as reported by some previous reviewers. I would imagine once construction gets underway across the street on the new Telus facility, this will become more of an issue. I would have preferred a room on the pool/garden side but was told there are no Boutique rooms on that side. I think that is the only way we would have used a balcony had we had one. The room itself was nicely appointed. Nice linens and comfortable bed. We did actually use the fireplace even though it was April! The staff in general were very pleasant and requests for extra wine glasses and pods for the Nespresso machine were handled very promptly. The large ensuite was nice, especially with 2 people getting ready at the same time. We didn't realize there would be a little fridge in the room, which was a nice bonus. The wood furniture was a little dusty, which didn't give me the warm fuzzies. The breakfast room was very nice, and the buffet had a nice variety, but the kitchen seemed to have a few issues keeping up with the supply the hot items, even though the room wasn't that busy. It was appreciated that the breakfast was available until 11:30am. Serving staff in the breakfast room were pleasant and attentive. Overall, although it met my expectations, it didn't exceed them. We would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennEleiter, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear MandB56,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the travel community here on TripAdvisor, the worlds largest user-generated travel site.

Please allow me to comment on your very thoughtful remarks and obervations.

Earlier this year, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver was very fortunate to be awarded the #1 hotel in Canada from the '2012 TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards.' We were delighted the travel community recognized our team and our efforts in this manner and to celebrate we created a value-packed package that has proved ever so popular.

As many of our guests choose to drive to the property, the 'TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards' package was specifically designed with these guests in mind. The package includes your choice of one of our well-appointed Rooms or Suites; our Boutique Breakfast Buffet and secure Valet Parking with full 24hr in and out privileges.

The package is designed to automatically save the traveller $33.88, the cost of our Valet Parking ($25 + tax). Valet parking is not complimentary (regardless of how many guests stay in a room) and I apologize for this minor misunderstanding.

As an additional bonus, 'Q4 al Centro', the Italian restaurant adjacent to the hotel, offers a 15% discount to hotel guests. It was so very unfortunate that Q4 is closed on Sundays and public holidays and you were not able to enjoy one of their exquisite pasta dishes.

MandB56, thank you once again for your feedback. We hope that if and when you find yourself back on the mainland, you chose to enjoy the warm hospitality of L'Hermitage Hotel.

Sincerely,
Glenn Eleiter
General Manager
L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My partner and I travel frequently so when we discover a great place, we want to pass it on. This hotel's service was fantastic. From the moment we walked in the door, to when we checked out, we felt pampered and taken care of.

The room was amazing and the furnishings were high quality.

All in we loved this hotel and will be staying here again. This hotel is a great value for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom + den. It had a nice outdoor seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josmainmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We are fussy and this place met every expectation~!
No disappointments, great service and good amenities. Surprisingly quiet!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5starsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Have been to Vancouver many, many times in a variety of hotels, including Hotel Le Soleil, Westin Bayshore, Sandman, Sheraton, Times Square and more. This was my first stay at L'Hermitage. Stayed for a week in 1 bedroom suite. Location is optimal. Service was truly exceptional. Felt more like I had several luxury condo doormen every time I walked into the hotel.

Room was top-notch. Quiet, bed was perfect. It's really difficult to nitpick. Yeah, I'm going to return.

Nicest surprise? Flying home I see the hotel mentioned in the Air Canada Magazine. Not sure if it was bought but take it from me: if your budget is up to $225/nt don't pick anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights en-route from London to Whistler for a family ski holiday. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the serve at L'Hermitage was exceptional. All the staff were friendly and welcoming and I couldn't single out any of them above the rest - what a great team.

We stayed in a Signature one bed suite with den which was of a good size and VERY well equipped. The kitchen and bathrooms (x2) were top quality. Our rate included the boutique breakfast which is one of the best you will find anywhere. Smoked salmon, scrambled eggs, home made granola etc.

The hotel is located on the corner of Richards and Robson so is great for walking out into the heart of Vancouver. Attached to the hotel is a great Italian restaurant and hotel guests get 15% discount.

I will definitely use the hotel again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good base in central Vancouver

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfinBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,019 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,724 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing