We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I had to have one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Japadog

Japadog
Ranked #211 of 3,493 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: West End
Phoenix
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I had to have one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

There was a cart right in front of my Vancouver hotel. I passed by every day and said I was going to get one. Finally the last night, I stopped.
The Chicago roots in me will always want to try a good dog.
I cannot remember the one I had but it was delicious! Certainly a departure from the a Chicago Vienna Beef with everything including kraut, celery salt and bright green relish but you cannot beat the large portion, meaty textures, and layers of different flavors and spice. I wish all of the options were available at the cart. Their online menu shows many more choices. That said, I did have trouble picking one. I did not try the seafood or veggie options.
The 2 servers spoke very little English so I had trouble understanding the explanation of the different ingredients that I was not familiar with.
I did love the dog and would try others if I have the opportunity. I will say that one per trip would be enough -- it was very filling and was definitely packs a powerful punch of flavor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Battmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    141
    58
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot dog!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just the most amazing hot dog ever. Looking forward to goin to their LA location-- just so fun. Delicious meat not greasy, wasabi mayo tasty

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonandJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Japadog is delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Kobe all beef hot dog, ordered from a food cart. I tasted the one my husband got and then got one of my own!! The seaweed adds a nice texture and mild flavour--it isn't like the slimy stuff you see along the banks of the ocean. I got the one with a delicious sauce, (not sure what it was) seaweed and several other items, which I am not sure what it was, but combined made one of the best hot dogs I have ever had. Wish I knew how to recreate it. YUM

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bahlrichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
123 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Japadog man's best dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Who would have guessed that a hotdog with seaweed and some kind of savory sauce would be so good? (the Terimayo) kids even had the pure beef dogs plain and loved them. A little pricey for a "hot dog", but this is Vancouver...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rufoosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yummy hot dogs with a twist!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The cart is situated on Burrard Street, I walked passed it several times, and finally the smells got me!! This is hot dogs with a Japanese twist, Japadog has several branches, there are the usual celebrity photos including Steven Segal and Daniel Dae Kim. My choice was a dog with seaweed, terriyaki sauce and Japanese Mayo, once the order is made, there is a 10 min wait, even at 5pm there was a big queue. The young ladies cooking the dogs were great theatre and when the dog came, it was dead yum!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SittingbourneOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japadog also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Japadog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing