We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pimped out Dogs!”
Review of Japadog

Japadog
Ranked #281 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: West End
New York
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pimped out Dogs!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I love Japadog for a late night snack. It's basically Hot Dogs made to order using Japanese ingredients. It's simply delicious with that extra asian flair.
I would also recommend the many variety of flavored fries, especially the curry fries which is basically curry powered shaken in a bag of hot fries. You should really eat these immediately or on the go.
Enjoy all the dogs and definitely the fries.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milehighclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    151
    63
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Japadog Forever”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I loved every Japadog I got to try and I hope I live long enough to try every one. Every bite is delicious and worth the heartburn!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyintheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Original, delicious, worth the money”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A food stand that makes their own sausages, is inventive in their culinary execution, and is overall, really fast in preparing fresh food, I have to say, this place is an all around winner. While the prices may seem a bit high for a hotdog, let me tell you, this is not just another hotdog. It is a full meal that combines east and west (both in the meat and toppings). I HIGHLY recommend the bratwurst, such an interesting texture and flavour to mix with Japanese condiments.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peevery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It shouldn't work, but it's awesome”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I'd heard a lot about Japadog so had to stop by on a recent trip through Vancouver to see for myself what the hype was about.

Picture a hotdog (a great hotdog at that) sold from a street cart and topped with strange condiments and foods that you'd normally find in a sushi restaurant. Sound weird? Definitely. But it tastes amazing!

Give it a try when you're there--this is the original stand but here are now several locations throughout the city. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleLeafGirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A touch of Japan on the cheap,”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you wish to try the iconic hot dog in a different layout, this is the place to try. Never had SEAWEED with your hotdog? Try it Mikey, you'll truly enjoy it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Latache2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japadog also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Japadog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing