We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy hotel, with some reservations...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
388 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Classy hotel, with some reservations...”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

2 separate stays in this hotel during the summer months. Interestingly a few differences betweeen experiences. The first - a 4 night stay in an 'entry level' room - great room with plenty of storage on the 10th floor facing Howe Street. The second - a 4 night stay also....the same category of room but, smaller and with barely enough storage (2 small drawers + robes) for 1 person, never might 2 for 4 nights! This time on the 4th floor facing Georgia.
After much negotiation on days 1 and 2, moved to a better room for 2 nights....followed by a request to move back into the original (smaller room) for 1 night. After some strong protest, 2nd room was allocated for final night.
The point of the above is.....when allocating rooms...whichever category consideration should be given to ....number of nights customers are staying with 'better' rooms allocated to longer stays and better positions ie floors.
Some of the staff were most helpful, at the front desk....but not all! One gentleman in particular, gave me the impression I should go away and not have him bother with this request - in fact he didn't bother to record the request on the system, despite saying he would!! So some inconsistent service issues here....
Having said all that, this is indeed a lovely hotel - splendid central location. Concierges were most helpful...as, of course you'd expect of a hotel of this calibre. The hotel offer a free limo service within the downtown areas.....The Bentley, complete with James (Jim) the chauffeur was a delight
The outside terrace area (4th floor) for drinks and snacks also a very pleasant space to enjoy during the summer months.
All in all a good stay....just be sure to check out your room allocation on arrival!

Room Tip: Rooms on Howe Street slightly quietly than those on Georgia, but as this is a corner site, difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    149
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
296
783
75
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

we were in vancouver for only one night. there are so many luxury hotels to choose from in vancouver, but we selected the hotel georgia because of the rosewood connection. we made the right choice! this hotel is extraordinary in every way, our room was beautiful - lovely decor, spacious, with a bathroom as large as many hotel rooms elsewhere. the service was incomparable. the concierge was excellent. i contacted him in advance of our visit for assistance in securing a dinner reservation. we were celebrating our anniversary and wanted someplace special. when the response came back with a reservation at hawksworth, the restaurant in the hotel, i was a little suspicious. but i should not have been. dinner was fabulous. we were greeted with warm wishes for our anniversary by both the hostess and our server. when we had a question about the cocktail menu, our server brought the bartender to our table to help explain. even though the bar was very busy. even the hotel manager knew we were celebrating our anniversary, and when we arrived in our room there was a bottle of champagne and a celebratory note. we loved the hotel georgia and hope to return. it is a rare gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wextraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well, I've stayed at a lot of hotels and the only one that I enjoyed more as an overall experience was the Park Hyatt in Seoul. The base room is a bit small - no tubs - but the design is thoughtful, with room lighting controls well automated. We stayed in a room with a deep soaking tub, which was great. My parents also flew in from the east coast to visit us and they were treated respectfully and attentively.

The thing I really appreciated was the service, from the manager to the hotel car driver. The concierge was excellent, the staff attentive. Location was fantastic - near the train, great food, walking distance to a lot of things.The cafe downstairs had fantastic croissants.The pool is a big bonus.

The hotel is luxurious without being stuffy or pretentious. I'm definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripmasterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Rosewood Hotel Georgia made our trip to Vancouver simply fabulous. We wanted a comfortable stay and couldn't decide on this hotel or The Loden. We are so happy to have chosen The Rosewood Hotel Georgia. Our stay was one of the best we have ever had! Our room was not ready when we arrived and we had a cocktail at Reflections on the 4th floor while waiting for the room. At that moment we were glad to have chosen a hotel that offered restaurant and bar amenities but we had no idea the luxury and excellent service that we would experience for the next 4 days. Our deluxe king on the 9th floor was beautiful. We had breakfast at Hawksworth every morning and it was a wonderful way to start our mornings in Vancouver. The restaurant is beautiful and the food and service were excellent. The hotel is close to everything and we were able to easily walk to Stanley Park, the waterfront, the Sky Train, the ferries, Yaletown, Robson, Gastown. Vancouver is beautiful and we loved our daily sightseeing adventures. We were always happy though to come back to the luxuries of the hotel. After a long day of hiking or walking, I headed for the bathroom to soak in the relaxing tub....so luxurious! I have a tub at home but nothing like this. In fact, I have never even wanted to take a bath before! My husband headed for the rain like shower. The entire bathroom is huge and simply luxurious and the bath products are so nice. As wonderful as the bathroom was, I can't decide what I liked more....the bathroom or the bed. The bedding makes you not want to leave the bed. The pillows were soft and the sheets were very high quality and the mattress was heavenly. Housekeeping does a great job in keeping the room spotless and they provide service at night also so that when you come back to the room after dinner, the room is spotless again. Total luxury. We ate at several top rated restaurants while in Vancouver but felt that many were over hyped. On our last night, we cancelled our reservations at a top restaurant and opted to stay at the hotel because we knew that our experience at the hotel would be exactly what we were looking for. We had drinks and dinner at the Hawksworth bar and it was excellent service and food. This hotel is not over hyped. It really delivers excellent service and provides a truly luxurious and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kodysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLW
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We travel a lot and this is always my favorite hotel to come back to. The most amazing of everything makes this place the best. The service is always on par, the rooms are thoughtful and well appointed with everything you would expect and more. The location is the best in Vancouver. The hotel oozes history and is an iconic Vancouver landmark. We love the lounge downstairs for lazy nights and trying some of the coolest beverages in town. There is no compromising here. The Not only does it have it all it has the best of it all. Pool, shopping, car service, close to the Canada Line for a no hassle trip to YVR. It's the only spot to be, so if you'e looking for the best hotel in Vancouver, then don't look any further!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfuller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

After a harrowing airline experience with lost reservations and rude staff we were greeted by the hotel receptionist with the dreaded words,"Your room is not quite ready." Luckily this was followed by, "Can we invite you to a cocktail in our lounge?" What followed was an incredible 5 day stay at one of the finest places we have visited. we did not want to leave. The knowledgeable concierge service got us last minute reservations to some of the hottest restaurants and the driver of the hotel car (a Bentley) gave us great tips as he dropped us off to rent bikes at Stanley Park. Elegant but never stuffy, (yes the rooms do have heated bathroom floors and soaker tubs and one afternoon I read a book for 2 hours in the tub) the atmosphere of cozy comfort and elegance is maintained by an uber professional and knowledgeable staff. The location makes it a 10-15 minute walking distance to every part of Vancouver. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This magnificent property has been completely renovated in a very modern and high end way. Everything down to the modern and sleek bathroom fixtures, the plush bedding and curtains and the Nespresso machine makes staying at this hotel the lap of luxury.

We also discovered during our stay that they had a number one rated restaurant on the property. The experience was very pleasant, the food quality high and the presentation and pairing beautiful and innovative. The service was professional and top notch. We were further impressed when the chef came out to greet us.

The location of this hotel is very central, right next to the Four Seasons Hotel and a big shopping mall with Holt Renfrew. The hotel also provides the use of a Bentley and its wonderfully professional and knowledgeable driver Mr. Duddell. Although we did not use this service, we were duly impressed and will definitely call on Mr. Duddell's services during our next stay.

Room Tip: The best one bedroom suite would be the 04 series. There seems to be another one bedroom configurat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoyageurW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Hotel Georgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Hotel Georgia

Property: Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Address: 801 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1P7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Hotel Georgia 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following its debut in the Roaring ‘20s, the Hotel Georgia came to be known as Vancouver’s most historic and elegant retreat. The opening of Rosewood Hotel Georgia in 2011 has returned Vancouver's most legendary hotel to its place as one of the select hotels worldwide. The hotel reflects timeless elegance, with 156 luxurious guestrooms and suites, Sense, A Rosewood Spa®, Reflections outdoor patio, 1927 Lobby Lounge, 9853 sq feet of function space, a fitness center, 52” indoor saltwater lap pool and Hawksworth restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Hotel Georgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing