We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good overall”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hostel is located in downtown Vancouver, just a few blocks from historic and tourist-orientated Gastown. While the hostel is close to many of Vancouver's sights, the area is also close to the beginning of East Hastings Street; that is to say, it is close to what several locals I spoke to consider the "seedy" bit of town. I wasn't too phased but thought I would mention it anyway.

The hostel is quiet in and of itself but is located in a pretty noisy district with a live music venue nearby.To be fair, we were there over a weekend, so perhaps there is less noise mid-week. But there was loads of noise the nights we were there - not a problem for me, but would really annoy the light sleepers that I know! The room was also REALLY hot too, which meant we couldn't do without opening the window, which in turn meant louder noise.

Now, on the plus side: free breakfast including fruit, free wifi which worked in our room, helpful owner, two cats, feels like a home, shared bathrooms clean!

If you like experiences that are special and a bit out of the ordinary, and you can go without a fan in summer and can cope with a bit of noise, this is the hostel for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
38
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and i stayed here for 5 nights. Great location to downtown Vancouver. Can walk to all local attractions. Great that you are able to cook dinner as well as breakfast although the restaurants are very close. Clean and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joged, Manager at Urban Hideaway Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review with the world

Live, Love, Laugh, Travel <3

The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse family
Vancouver, British Columbia
Canada
2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

As we arrived at the door on the street, our hearts dropped a little as the street was covered in cigarette buts and behind the door, the stairs area leading up to the main entrance was quite dusty and dishevelled. But once Ken opened the door and welcomed us to his home, we knew we had made the right choice.

We would agree with all the positive comments posted on this website. Indeed one of the reasons we chose the location was because the Lonely Planet mentioned there were two cats! Unfortunately the cats kept themselves to themselves during most of our stay.

We enjoyed the freedom to make our own breakfast, and although the place was booked out, we never had a problem with bumping into other guests. However, if more than 4 did turn up at one time, the kitchen would be rather cramped and there seems to be a limited number of glasses and some other cutlery.

We stayed in the twin room and the bathroom opposite is particularly nice. As it was summer and there was a mini heatwave, the room got a bit stuffy. It might be an idea to supply fans for the rooms in summer.

As we were leaving, the patio area was under repair, so hopefully the entrance area will have a facelift and be more welcoming in future.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here and were made truly welcome. We would reccommed it to anyone not looking for an anonymous hotel stay, right in the heart of the city

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ned D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Extremely friendly and welcoming - within minutes of coming in the door, Ken had made us feel at home. The house is quirky and full of character and things to look at, and definitely for those in search of something more than hotels offer. Think of it as staying at the home of friends, but don't go expecting modern perfection. The lovely eclectic mixture of battered 1920s dressing tables and items from Ikea add to the "shabby chic" charm and fit in well with the Victorian building.

Shoes off at the front door, and clean up after yourself in the kitchen, it is like going to stay with friends.

After our first visit passing through Vancouver, we immediately booked for the return journey later in the week. We both loved it. We'd love to come back some day!

Helpful?
Thank Lupusodorf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joged, Manager at Urban Hideaway Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review with the world

Live, Love, Laugh, Travel <3

The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse family
Vancouver, British Columbia
Canada
2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Janine and Ken were great hosts, beautiful rooms, easy access to everything in Vancouver,
we stayed in the suite on the top floor of the guesthouse. It had a very nice bed quite comfortable cutely decorated. Located just a few blocks from the Gaslight district. we walked to a couple of restaurants on water street not to far away. Diffidently a great time and totally recommend urban hideaway to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hostelbirchbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we stayed in a twin room for 3 nights in october, it was a wonderful place to stay. great location, great house with everything you could want. would definitely stay there again and recommend it. it is not for people wanting to party, but a quiet home away from home. breakfast was all supplied you just had to cook it in the lovely kitchen. wonderful experience.

Room Tip: we stayed in a twin room, it was basic but good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bronwynn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I would not stay here again. Both the owners were very kind and hospitable, but the accommodations were very lacking.
The front door was VERY hard to find, steep stairs lead to actual 'house', unusable front 'porch', tiny kitchen that guests have to use simultaneously (ie make your own meals) - decided to go out and eat most mornings.
Slept in back bedroom, very noisy (breaking glass, slamming doors, lots of stagnant night foot traffic).
Shared bathrooms was not as easy as stated. One of the two bathrooms smelled like sewage when you take a hot shower - not the smell I want to wake up to in the morning.
Very easy to access downtown, great physical location, but could have stayed two blocks away for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JNNOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,321 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
715 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
1,420 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hideaway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hideaway Guesthouse

Property: Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
Address: 581 Richards St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Urban Hideaway Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hideaway Guesthouse Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing