We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, best fish and soup--Picnic time!”
Review of Go Fish

Go Fish
Ranked #126 of 3,775 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Granville Island & Fairview
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best value, best fish and soup--Picnic time!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Even though you will wait in line to order and then wait again for your food to be prepared, you will not be disappointed! The daily soup is one of the delights of our time each year in Vancouver. The spicy fish "cones" are amazing. We have learned to ask for everything to go. It can be very warm on the dock in the summer, so plan to take your wonderful meal to the nearby park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCtripview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    135
    31
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Herradura, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Delicious fish and chips”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Basically this is just a trailer with outdoor tables in parking lot by Granville Island but the food was great and the views are fantastic. It was a lovely sunny day and we sat at the table and ate our food overlooking the water. The food is freshly cooked - lovely moist fish, tasty chips served in baskets with coleslaw and tartare sauce. Portions are a good size, it was hard to finish and all delicious.
The place is very popular and there was a small queue but the service was quick. There is a nice friendly atmosphere to the place and sitting in the sun eating great fish and chips by the water makes it a nice place to be.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rollergirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Takeaway Fish and Chips in Vancouver”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The service was quick and pleasant. I ordered 4 fish and chips which I was told comes with coleslaw and Tartare Sauce. They cooked the fish which took about 10 minutes for it all to be ready. Friendly and good value ($24 in total).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype or lineup”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We joined the lineup at this shack on Fisherman's Wharf and what a disappointment. The food was expensive for what you got and not very good. The fried fish was very oily, the salmon on a bun small and just ok and the tuna on a bun not that much better. It is not worth the hype and you can get better for cheaper and in a nicer atmosphere. We would not recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sportguy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Vancouver”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were there few minutes before the store opens at 12PM and there are already people there waiting. We ordered the cod fish and chips and the salmon burger. The fish is super fresh and well prepared, really loved it. However, the pieces of fish are really small. There were many patrons, but we noticed that the people running the store are so experienced, the food was ready in reasonably time, and everybody got served pretty quickly. I felt it is on the expensive side, since this is a self service store (won't even consider calling it a restaurant), self service, with plastic utensils to go with.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skydancer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Fish also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Go Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing