We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place to dine”
Review of Go Fish

Go Fish
Ranked #115 of 3,749 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Granville Island & Fairview
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Horrible place to dine”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was surprised to see the shack next to a busy parking lot, a couple of wood benches next to the asphalt paving. Our fish and chips, oyster burger took 25 minutes to prepare and they were cold when we got them. Not sure what the fuzz is all about this place, but I will not definitely re-visit this again and would not recommend anyone to go there. The prices are expensive for what we got and the fish did not taste fresh, definitely not from the fishing boat, probably from a deep freezer. It is the worst dining experience I ever had. Please stay away from this place.....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hot_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    130
    31
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips ever!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Delicious cod and fries. Doesn't get better than this for fish and chips. It's not cheap but worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank SoCal310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“God fish'n chips”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We visited this place because it was recommended to us by a friend, it is a good place, it has parking space, enough tables and a wonderful view. The fish and chips are very good and the portions are generous. We had a good experience, if you are planning to go be ready for a little wait, but it is worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OscarIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Go Fish is a "Go-to"!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently had lunch at Go Fish while on a quick vacation trip to Vancouver, BC. This is an experience not to be missed if you like small local places with great food. It sits on Granville Island on one of the docks overlooking the boat harbor. It can be just a little tricky to find, but ask for directions from the many shopkeepers in the area. There were about 10 of us in our group and we stopped for lunch. Wow! We could not make up our mind between the salmon, cod or halibut and chips. Finally decided on the basket of halibut and chips. Ordered 3 slabs of deep friend halibut for the two of us. We were stuffed! But wow, was it ever good. One of the best casual fish meals I have had. The other people in our group were all congratulating each other for finding this place. They all ordered different types of fish and everyone loved what they ate! The people that work in the restaurant are all very friendly and helpful with suggestions. I highly recommend this place and it is on my list when I return to Vancouver BC

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nonstop_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Haddock basket that's worth the wait!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Don't miss this walk up place if you are on Granville Island .It has a limited menu of of mostly seafood items. It opens at 11:30 and there was already a line when we arrived at 11:15. Once they opened, line went fairly quickly. We all ordered a Haddock basket with fries and slaw. Next time I will skip the fries and go for more fish! Delicious! Seating is limited but you can find a bench on water if there seats are all taken. Many people ordered it to go. So glad we discovered this gem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tallygirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Fish also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Go Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing