We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese Fusion”
Review of Kuma Tofino

Kuma Tofino
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: Kuma Tofino serving Japanese comfort food in a cozy environment.
Restaurant details
Description: Kuma Tofino serving Japanese comfort food in a cozy environment.
Reviewed March 5, 2019

Had the best time again at Kuma - we always make sure to stop in at this cozy den of a restaurant when we are in Tofino and have never been disappointed. The bear tuna is incredible - all the subtle tastes and textures combine, I think about it often. Another must is their Chicken Karaage, probably the best version we’ve tasted ever- finish this off with their house ramen and some of their incredible sake and you have the perfect menu. Serving staff are really engaging, and service is very quick every time we have been there, it’s also fun to watch the chefs in the open concept kitchen.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank naveed7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 350 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2018

The entire menu looks delectable but I would go there strictly for the 'bear' tuna. Tuna, truffle oil, avocado -- the best combination ever! We'll continue to come back each time we are in town.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dayna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

The food smells and looks good here, but by the time they get around to your table, you might have lost your appetite.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank dmlvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The food and the service are very nice. The only negative point is that there are long wait times. We really liked the Ramen. The fried rice was also very nice but it could have more beef.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angelamariaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

So, after 4 years of coming up to Tofino for my birthday we have never tried this restaurant before. The locals all told us to try this place - as it was closing at the end of the month!

Boy - are we glad we did! It was truly the best meal of the week! If you have a lot of money please buy this place and keep it open - heck I bought a lotto ticket to hopefully win and buy it myself!

The chefs all worked like such a team - it was amazing to watch them cook. They have all been there for years and we could tell the passion put into making the food.

We had the edamame (amazing!) and chicken karaage (so good) to start.

We then had the House Ramen bowl and the Miso braised beef bowl - and shared them all.

Then we shared the green tea and white chocolate brownie and the chocolate pot de crem (like truffle pudding) with miso crystals.

Like - WTH?? These flavours were amazing! While we love the other local restaurants this one really stood out with its unique food and style - you can’t get this anywhere else in town . I can order a steak at 6 other places or a burger at 10 - but nothing like this.

It was so good that the wife forgot to order a drink. Yes - it was that good. I’m shocked too.

Wish me luck on the lotto folks!!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Norden_Magician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuma Tofino also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Kuma Tofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing