We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good Benny” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Schooner Restaurant

The Schooner Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $37
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Legendary Seafood & Steakhouse Locally owned, proudly destroying appetites since 1949. Casual dining, Fine dining, Oyster bar, Cocktails lounge and Tap house. Unrivalled ocean and mountain views. Great patio, centrally located.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good Benny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were happy to find Benny's in Tofino and these were pretty good. My only critique is that there was a bit too much garlic sautéed in the spinach. They also called "Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice" something that came out of a carton. I'm amazed at how many restaurants have made this mistake. We sat on the patio with a lovely view and saw many bald eagles fly by.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank seetastelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    321
    88
    25
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pleasant seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We were impressed by the decor and atmosphere and by the attentive service that we received. We had a food starter of nicely cooked squid which we shared and my wife had the mussel appetiser which she thought were good. I was a little disappointed with the simple grilled halibut dish which I thought was too thin, a little overcooked and lacking a tasty sauce. Our waiter was excellent and the wines were good. Overall, a pleasant evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best food in tofino or ucluelet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Once again a memorable meal. Fantastic seafood - the Halibut Bawden Bay is to die for!!! The atmosphere is great, the service is wonderful - obviously the staff are well briefed on the food they are serving. The owner sometimes works in The kitchen and his son works in the bar. I guess they have a vested interest in the place. We have been to the schooner many times and you can rely on everything. The best place in Tofino. Book if you can, it gets very busy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Surprise! Better than The Pointe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were totally surprised. Both service and food are much better than Wickininish Inn's The Pointe. The wait for the food was a bit longer than expected but the quality worth the wait. My 2 year old toddler finished the whole entire dish of Country Breakfast on his own. That's how good it is!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelPuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercer island wa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a great waiter, Waylon and he was very knowledgeable of the menu and excellent!! The fresh steamed crab was pricey ($43.00 but the best I have ever had! It was translucent/fantastic! Wife had Halibut and she raved about hers as well. Again, very fresh and she enjoyed it. Had to taste one Nami Nori oyster appetizer at $4.00 and it was excellent....had never had it before. If you are a raw oyster lover, this will blow you away. Wish I had ordered more oysters but needed to save room for dessert. Had two glasses of wine and chocolate ice cream for dessert(shared). Bill came in at $109.00. Look forward to returning!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimstravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Schooner Restaurant also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Schooner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing