We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak in Tofino!”

The Schooner Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 54 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Legendary Seafood & Steakhouse Locally owned, proudly destroying appetites since 1949. Casual dining, Fine dining, Oyster bar, Cocktails lounge and Tap house. Unrivalled ocean and mountain views. Great patio, centrally located.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Tofino!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My partner and I went to The Schooner for a birthday dinner. The entire experience was great! Our server was very attentive and helpful with wine and food suggestions. The steak was the best that my partner has ever had. I had the prawns which were also delicious. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    351
    99
    27
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had been here several years ago. We still remembered the Chevre salad. it is now served on a bed of beets so we didn't bite this time.

Our waiter was very friendly and spoke of the owner and chief as his second mom. We understand why he liked her cooking so much. He helped us choose from their unique cocktails to start and told us what his favorite dish was which is a 30 year favorite the stuffed seafood Halibut.
We started with a cooked Nami Nori Oyster which was very tasty and the black and blue tuna, which was very tasty and perfectly done on top of the salad greens.

My wife ordered the stuffed halibut which was delicate, delicious and a generous portion. I ordered the surf and turf. which was a NY steak, perfectly done, very tasty being topped with hollandaise sauce atop yummy mashed potatoes, accompanied by a zucchini spaghetti, corn and 4 very tasty smallish prawns covered in garlic and butter. What a treat. We simply didn't have room for dessert. All for $140.00 including an 18% tip, Being off season they only part of the restaurant that was open was their second floor candle lit dining room. Much classier then the schooner themed restaurant downstairs. A delightful meal we will dine there when we come back to Tofino.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crossroadsmassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent and a Tasty Fresh Seafood Dish”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had a wonderful fresh Halibut Steak, which was superb. The service and ambience was equally responsive and very pleasant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LCplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had the stuffed (seafood) Halibut and it was very tasty. My husband had the ribs & they were also very good. The portions were larger than expected for a more upscale restaurant. Neither my husband or myself were able to finish our meals. The service was fist rate. For our two meals & two drinks it was $100 (incl tip) so it's something we wouldn't do all the time but it was a nice treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I came to Tofino after the long weekend in November. We had tried the previous 2 nights to order seafood at other restaurants with no success. Several people recommended the Schooner to us, so we gave it a try. They did not disappoint. We ordered several kinds of the oyster menu options, all were outstanding! We then had crab and the thai seafood bowl. The meals were good in size and great in flavour. The suggested wine pairings were also good. The atmosphere was inviting and comfortable. Our waitress was very friendly and made sure that we were well served. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalenawalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Schooner Restaurant also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Schooner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing