We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Japanese Sushi”
Review of Tough City Sushi

Tough City Sushi
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 12, 2019

My wife and I ate here a few times during our stay in Tofino and we must say that it was the best sushi place that we ever experienced outside of Japan. My wife is Japanese, so this says plenty. Although the owners are not Japanese, they had made sure to hire a couple of Japanese sushi chefs who really know their stuff and are able to direct the staff in the proper ways of preparation. The finest cuts of seafood were used along with premium quality of rice and seaweed (nori). My wife kept ordering the sockeye sashimi and I just loved the tuna tataki, although everything else we tried was delicious, too. They even had a California role with real dungeness crab! For a sushi restaurant, the prices were surprisingly very reasonable.
Tough City Sushi is located on the waterfront in the Tough City hotel and has one of the very few ocean front dinning spots in town. The views are spectacular. The wait staff were very, very friendly and efficient during all of our visits. I only wish the restaurant was in our home town. I want to thank the owners of this place for doing things first rate.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank luv2travcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 328 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

Stopped for a drink and snacks and pleasantly surprised. Pina colada nicebut could have done without the cream. However the food was great and reasonably priced. Can recommend

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank annee2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

Tough city sushi is a popular restaurant, but you’re spinning the roulette wheel when you go there! We’ve been 20 times in 10 years, and twice got food poisoning. I have out of town clients who had to cancel their appointments with me because they also got food poisoning there, and coworkers who have experienced the same thing. The owner does not care if you call to advise him, so we didn’t call the second time it happened, we just stopped going. If you check the viha food saferestaurant rating website, you will see tough city sushi has had a long history of food safe problems.

The sushi tastes great, service can be slow, but the dealbreaker for us was the food safety. We just don’t want to risk it.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank WckV3555FO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toughcitysushi, Owner at Tough City Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

We are the owners of Tough City Sushi and we are very upset about your very negative and erroneous review of our restaurant. After having been in business for 18 years we have never had a case of food poisoning. You seem to know at least 5 people who have "allegedly" got food poisoning at our place. If you know 5 people then so does everybody else and the cases would number in the thousands. Also our VIHA rating is excellent!! Any little problem that arises out of inspection is dealt with promptly and we have never had anything seriously wrong. You said it happend to you 8 months ago, why on earth would you wait this long to report it.
Please be so kind to take down your post.

Thanks
Ron + Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

We had met “crazy Rob”, the owner, a few days later when he incited is down to watch him feed the eagles. What a character!
We decided to check out the restaurant and we’re so glad we did! Like most of Tofino, you’re not going to find a cheap meal, but you will find quality and some creative rolls. The view from the patio can’t be beat, and the beer is fresh and local.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank jasperspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

This place has good sushi and a great view of the harbour. Prices are higher than somewhere like Vancouver but that’s Tofino and the sushi is worth it!!! You can sit inside or out and the decorations and setting is very cool. Sit outside and watch the float planes take off!!!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank CameronF0478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tough City Sushi also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tough City Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing