We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice fresh sushi”
Review of Tough City Sushi

Tough City Sushi
Ranked #21 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice fresh sushi”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were told the sushi was fresh off the boat downstairs, and it tasted like it! My husband doesn't eat sushi, so he had a Caesar salad and raved about it. He wanted to go back the next day, but we had other restaurants to try....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank djaffray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    81
    28
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went there with two sushi loving teens. Waited 15 minutes for any service after being told they were expecting a big group in an hour and may need our table. After we placed our order we waited 20 min while watching others around us get served even tho they came in after us. I'd have to say that given the ocean at their doorstep, the fish simply wasn't fresh. Not bad but not great and about $1 over priced for each piece.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TakoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Funky and fun atmosphere, beautiful view and great service.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Tough City. Locals in the hardware store directed us how to get there, loudly proclaiming how great the food is, and how awesome the owner. From the moment we walked in, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Our waitress made us special lime sake margaritas, and helped us with our meal choices. The agedashi tofu and gomae salad were beautifully presented and delicious. Our rolls were well made, great portions and very filling. All this, plus a table on the patio to enjoy the view. We watched boats, kayakers and even a seal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great for Sushi, but not for me!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Sushi was terrific by what the others in our group said, but if you want something other than sushi, you are pretty much out of luck. I had Caesar Salad with chicken and it was good, but they need to expand menu for non sushi fans. Drinks were great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huntlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Me and some friends went out to this restaurant a couple of times while we were in Tofino. The sushi was fresh and flavourful. The california rolls with dungeness crab were superb. My friend really enjoyed the maki platter.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tough City Sushi also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tough City Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing