We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood”
Review of Tough City Sushi

Tough City Sushi
Ranked #22 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton
2 reviews
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A fun and busy place. Excellent maki. Some of the best tataki I've ever had. Breath-taking views of the inlet from a few tables. Interesting decor in what looks to have started out as an old house on the waterfront. Slow service. I would definitely go back for maki that good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riverjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    81
    28
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location...very good sushi but pricey and slow service.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Ate here with a small group on the patio on a sunny evening. The views were fantastic over the water. The atmosphere is a bit more laid back. The waitress was very friendly and was quick bringing out our drinks. I am not typically a fan of sushi but what we ordered was delicious and we ended up ordered more. It did take a very long time for the sushi to come out to the table...but we didn't mind taking our time and sitting out on the water. Each order of sushi was quite small and was quite expensive...but to be expected in Tofino i would imagine. I loved the sushi and would eat here again if back in Tofino

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna_12Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“decent, but overpriced”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Sushi was average, priced how you would expect one of the few sushi places in such a major tourist destination. View on the patio was nice and relaxing. Service was friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oiler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slooooow service and overpriced sushi”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I went there for dinner one night (on a Wednesday night) and we wished we hadn't! We ordered 2 orders of maki and an assorted sushi platter (all to share). It took us about 90 minutes to get any food (except some edamame we ordered after the 1 hour mark cause we were starving).
We think our waitress messed up our order cause she tried to give us assorted tempura (at about the 1 hour mark, which made us order the edamame) and we said we didn't order it.... Instead of apologizing for the mix up and then trying to expedite the real order (of assorted sushi), she didn't do anything and just acted like she got the table wrong. Maybe she did - but I'm not sure that makes the situation any better...

We asked her a few times about when our food was coming and she kept on saying that a big table that ordered just before us and that it was very busy inside (we were on the patio). My boyfriend and I both went to the washroom at various times during the dinner and it wasn't that busy inside at all!
We finally did get our two orders of maki but only after having waited 90 minutes (during which of course we ordered drinks). The maki was good - but frankly, after 90 minutes of waiting, I think any food would have tasted good. After we ate the maki and it was apparent that the assorted sushi platter was not coming, we told our waitress to forget about the rest of the order and just to get the bill. We were so tired or waiting... She said it was the "next order" but we heard that too many times to have any faith!

Funny thing is that others on the patio did the same thing. We saw at least two tables on the patio that left without getting their courses.

I know Tofino (and a lot of the west coast) prides itself on being a bit more laid back than Toronto (where I'm from), but there is a difference between laid back and just plain SLOOOOOOW. I would not go back to Tough Sushi. The prices are expensive (I think we spent more on drinks in the end than food), and the service was terrible.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tripping_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West kelowna
Level Contributor
164 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great view over the Harbour.. Expensive sushi”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Very nice view... Sat outside overlooking the harbour. Spoilt by good sushi prices in Vancouver
so somewhat taken back by the prices here( but alo in most of Tofino).Both of us had salads , one with shrimp, the other with tuna. Okay.
Good service
Meet Crazy Ron , the owner... A " Colourful " character .

Helpful?
Thank Canada55plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tough City Sushi also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tough City Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing