We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting meal, but limited menu for a second visit”

The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $105
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Surveying the panoramic vistas from the westernmost point of Tofino’s idyllic Chesterman Beach, The Pointe Restaurant’s Refined West Coast cuisine and attentive service come gift-wrapped with 240 degree views of the Pacific Ocean, surrounding islands and wildlife. Much of the fresh seafood is fished from the very waters overlooked by The Pointe, and a longstanding focus on locally sourced, high quality ingredients is evident. Dinner is offered on a seasonal à la carte menu, but for the best of the best, try Executive Chef Warren Barr's weekly tasting menu; Daily brunch is a true treat. Out of the ordinary desserts reflect an innovative Pastry program where most everything - from bread to butter to scrumptious chocolate croissants are housemade. An extensive wine list, recognized yearly by Wine Spectator magazine, showcases BC’s finest selections with a broad range of international bottlings. Over 100 Scotch Whiskies and a creative cocktail menu can be savoured in the comfortable On the Rocks Lounge. A true taste of Rustic Elegance On Nature’s Edge - and the West Coast’s best views - are on the menu at The Pointe Restaurant and On the Rocks Lounge.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We liked the view from the restaurant, and the service was excellent, although over-fussy for our taste, and the food was interesting, as you would expect from this class of restaurant. But the menu was limited and we would have difficulty choosing for a second night, so we cancelled and found an excellent meal in town.

Main criticism is the mean size of their "glass of wine" - my wife wanted red and I wanted white, so we opted for a glass each to start - I know the management is going to say they accurately measured 125ml - but this is not enough for more than a taster, and considering the price left a negative impact on us both. So be warned. The other odd thing was that my wine - a Marlborough, NZ, sauvignon blanc - tasted superb on first sip, but that flavour disappeared once I started to eat the halibut meal, and I wonder if something in the jus (posh for sauce !) had coated my taste buds - whatever it was, it meant the small drop of wine I had was wasted with this meal !

8  Thank Roger-Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Manager at The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2014

Dear Roger Brenda;

Thanks so much for your feedback on The Pointe Restaurant.

We were pleased to read you like your experience dining with us and appreciated the open ocean views and excellent service. I was disappointed you found the menu limited. Hopefully you were made aware our 8 course tasting menu was also available to you on an individual basis along with the a la carte offering of seven appetizers and 7 entrees. While you elected not to dine with us on the second night I was happy to hear you found an excellent meal in town – Tofino has many delectable dining options!

Regarding wine, unfortunately we have some of the highest taxes on alcoholic beverages in the western world and despite that we do try our best to be as fair as possible while also maintaining reasonable margins. We do offer half litre options for wine as well, which often works best for many guests.

In terms of the pairing of the halibut dish with the Dog Pointe Sauvignon Blanc it is perhaps not the best combination as the richness of the jus accompanying the halibut with Chanterelles, sweet onion ragout and roasted scallion Vinaigrette was likely a little overpowering for this wine. For a sauce this robust a richer Pinot Gris or an oaked Chardonnay may have proved a better dance partner. We have updated our tasting notes to reflect this.

On behalf of Ike Seaman our Food and Beverage Manager and Warren Barr Executive Chef many thanks for both your positive and constructive feedback.

Sandy Stocker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
There are newer reviews for The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

539 - 543 of 905 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

The location and view is Chesterman's Beach and Frank Island is stunning, and the building is cleverly designed as a part circle which maximises the number of tables with a stunning view. The window seats were obviously popular, but I would recommend sitting one row back from the window as this means that you are looking out at the whole sweep of the panorama.
The food was obviously high cuisine with some unusual combinations that worked very well. The dishes seemed to have several strong flavours which were perfectly and expertly balanced to give a stunning overall impact. In less capable hands one flavour would have dominated, but strong balanced flavours gave very interesting and novel tastes - saying "I haven't tasted anything like that before" is pretty uncommon for me, but happened with just about every dish at the Pointe. I would pick out he chilled scallops with pickled strawberries as the top dish of the meal.
If I had to look for negatives - the wine was not sufficiently chilled when served so although the ice bucket did the job the first couple of glasses were too warm. The octopus was not sufficiently tenderised, but the compressed watermelon and sauce still made a great dish.
At about $140 per person for three courses, cocktail and wine this is certainly one of the most expensive meals that I have ever eaten - but it was also one of the best. Fine dining at the end of the road.

Thank TJCLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We have been going to the Wickininnish Inn since it was built years ago. We always recommend The Pointe Restaurant to our visitors and friends. That is why this year we decided to have our anniversary celebrations at this venue. We booked early and requested a table on the spectacular view.
We were greeted and taken to our table by the restaurant manager. I saw that this was the wrong table. It was jammed behind the wait station and had only a view of a bush in front of the window and of the back of the wait station. The manager assured us this was not a mistake, because some of the guests had booked two or even four months in advance and since they are staying in the hotel, they get the view tables. I explained that we had booked over six months in advance. She said she understood but would not move us to one of the many empty view tables. We told her she did NOT understand because this was a special anniversary and we had registered this event with the restaurant when we made the reservation and our request for a view.
She then looked down her nose at the child in our party and said in a most demeaning manner. “Now dearie, when you get restless your daddy can take you outside this convenient door near your table to run off steam.” I explained that the child was used to eating in restaurants and had more manners than most adults. The manager still would not move us into the view section of the restaurant.
She explained that the restaurant had a new policy that nonresident guests would be treated like second-class citizens while hotel guests would be given priority. She said she understood, but she clearly did NOT understand and we told her so. She had clear intent to ruin our celebration. She then said that if we wanted to be assured a good seat in The Pointe Restaurant we should come in the winter, not in the summer on a busy day.
She then brought us some “special drinks” to appease us because of her inability to move us to a main dining room table away from behind the wait station. She asked how we liked the drink. Nobody liked it. It was a pretty disgusting concoction!
We ordered our meal through a very pleasant waiter. The meal came and the appetizers were very good. The main meals came and the steaks were mouthwatering but the hot vegetables were cold. The waiter overheard us and quickly delivered a large bowl of steaming hot vegetables, as they should have been in the first place. We were given a dessert tasting plate to appease us. Then we ordered our desserts.
My advice to families with children, or to those having a major celebration, or to those that are not staying at the Wickaninnish Inn, or to those that do not reserve at The Pointe Restaurant at least seven months in advance: “DO NOT EAT AT THE POINTE RESTAURANT”. Management will treat you like second-class citizens. This is not the way the hospitality industry should work. We should not have been treated like second-class citizens nor in such a demeaning manner by the restaurant manager that evening. If nothing else, it was very hurtful, when all we wanted was a wonderful, memorable celebration in a beautiful setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
23  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

wonderful location. we went for diner one night and returned the next day for a nice drink in the bistro-café almost on the beach.

1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a really great restaurant that goes out of its way to please. We were at the hotel for 10 days so we really got to try it out thoroughly. We never had a bad meal. And the service was always very good and usually excellent. The top entrees while we were there were the halibut (our favorite), filet mignon and salmon, but all were very good. The appetizers were generous in size and could be turned into a meal. Again, they were excellent in quality and preparation. Desserts also measured up, especially the two chocolate desserts and the lemon blackberry dessert. We preferred the a la carte menu to the tasting menu.

Since we were there a long time the chef suggested we go off the menu and ask for something different. They were good about offering some ideas. We took advantage of this offer and it was a true highlight experience.

In sum, this is an outstanding restaurant set in a wonderful room with a 270 degree view of the ocean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound

Been to The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing