We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely love this place!”

The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $105
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Surveying the panoramic vistas from the westernmost point of Tofino’s idyllic Chesterman Beach, The Pointe Restaurant’s Refined West Coast cuisine and attentive service come gift-wrapped with 240 degree views of the Pacific Ocean, surrounding islands and wildlife. Much of the fresh seafood is fished from the very waters overlooked by The Pointe, and a longstanding focus on locally sourced, high quality ingredients is evident. Dinner is offered on a seasonal à la carte menu, but for the best of the best, try Executive Chef Warren Barr's weekly tasting menu; Daily brunch is a true treat. Out of the ordinary desserts reflect an innovative Pastry program where most everything - from bread to butter to scrumptious chocolate croissants are housemade. An extensive wine list, recognized yearly by Wine Spectator magazine, showcases BC’s finest selections with a broad range of international bottlings. Over 100 Scotch Whiskies and a creative cocktail menu can be savoured in the comfortable On the Rocks Lounge. A true taste of Rustic Elegance On Nature’s Edge - and the West Coast’s best views - are on the menu at The Pointe Restaurant and On the Rocks Lounge.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely love this place!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this restaurant. Went here for breakfast in October 2013 and everything was just top-notch from the food, the service, and the ambience. Right from the get-go I knew that we were going to love this place. We were greeted by their extremely friendly staff and our server even took the time to explain everything on the menu. Their smoked salmon tartine is a definite must-try. Come here for the great food and spectacular views and you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    141
    70
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wonderful food and the atmosphere is absolutely amazing and every dish we tried was DELICIOUS! Love it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyanStGermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Years 2013”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went here for new years eve meal. The food was incredible. It was our first time in a dining experience this nice and it was delicious. Very creative dishes, interesting plating, and great service. We had a nice surprise at the end of the night when the bill was much lower than expected too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Islandbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
446 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Do not be deterred by an eclectic menu”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We almost did not go The Pointe Restaurant. The on-line menu seemed more than a bit odd -- almost deliberately too smart by half. My wife, in particular, had trouble finding something that seemed appealing. We went anyway, in large measure because of the great ratings on Trip Advisor. We were delighted that we went. The service was okay without being great -- a little too casual and abrupt for our liking. The breads were lovely, the appetizers excellent, and the main courses significantly better than they sounded on the pages of the menu. This is one of those restaurants were you have to trust the chef to provide you with a first-rate meal, because you will almost certainly get one. The restaurant is stunning (except for the reflection off the glass which made it impossible to see outside) and the whole experience was very worthwhile.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitehorseVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“World Class + Expensive”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Easily made my Top 5 restaurants in the world list; for the quite unique blend of panoramic coastal water level viewpoint combined with their unbelievable menu. I had the sablefish (before I was vegetarian) and it was one of the most amazing and memorable dishes I've ever had the luxury of eating. The service was near-perfect, even the chef came out to ensure the fish was up to his standard. The only place with better service that I've experienced was Gordon Ramsey's The London in NYC - just for comparison! This is the place to splurge for special occasions but is far too expensive to frequent. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad-Anthony-Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing