We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dishes to Remember ....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn

The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $105
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Surveying the panoramic vistas from the westernmost point of Tofino’s idyllic Chesterman Beach, The Pointe Restaurant’s Refined West Coast cuisine and attentive service come gift-wrapped with 240 degree views of the Pacific Ocean, surrounding islands and wildlife. Much of the fresh seafood is fished from the very waters overlooked by The Pointe, and a longstanding focus on locally sourced, high quality ingredients is evident. Dinner is offered on a seasonal à la carte menu, but for the best of the best, try Executive Chef Warren Barr's weekly tasting menu; Daily brunch is a true treat. Out of the ordinary desserts reflect an innovative Pastry program where most everything - from bread to butter to scrumptious chocolate croissants are housemade. An extensive wine list, recognized yearly by Wine Spectator magazine, showcases BC’s finest selections with a broad range of international bottlings. Over 100 Scotch Whiskies and a creative cocktail menu can be savoured in the comfortable On the Rocks Lounge. A true taste of Rustic Elegance On Nature’s Edge - and the West Coast’s best views - are on the menu at The Pointe Restaurant and On the Rocks Lounge.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dishes to Remember ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

It's almost worth going for the view alone - perched above the crashing waves with views across the ocean and two beaches, stunning ... even without a window table! We had a wobbly start as we were left with the menus for a long time before our order was taken, I had shrimp pasta to start with which was bland and I didn't eat but my hubbies starter (confit pork with blue cheese) was amazing ... a dish to remember, we both had halibut from the tasting menu which was superb followed by stunning desserts ... a taste explosion and an amazing cheese dish to finish with. Good wine recommendations and after the initial delay good service. Expensive but memorable and would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EpisodesofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear EpisodesofLife,
Thank you for posting a Review on Trip Advisor and sharing your experience with our online community.
We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant and, in particular, the halibut on our Tasting Menu. We, too, feel the 240˚ view from The Pointe Restaurant of the Pacific Ocean and surrounding islands is magnificent and certainly adds to the dining experience of our guests.
We were, however, most disappointed to learn that you experienced slow service after receiving your menus and that you did not enjoy your shrimp pasta starter. Slow service is absolutely unacceptable and certainly not the standard at the Wickaninnish Inn or The Pointe Restaurant.
We are truly sorry that the shrimp pasta was not to your expectations as our culinary team prides itself on providing world class cuisine utilizing the freshest, locally sourced food products available. It is our standard to replace any dish not to our guest’s liking and apologize if you were not offered a replacement dish at the time. Please be assured that we have provided your comments directly to our culinary team, as well as to the Manager of The Pointe Restaurant so that he can follow up with his team.
On behalf of Charles McDiarmid and our entire Wickaninnish Inn team we thank you for your kind Review and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant again!
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    135
    66
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wickaninnish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A friend & I had breakfast prior to our beach walk. It was terrific! Tuna bacon with an omelet for my friend. I had the scrambled eggs with a potato cake, tomato jam and 2 Cumberland sausages, plus toast. It kept us going most of the day. A bonus was watching "Bruce" the eagle, catch a fish right in front of our table. Also beautiful sculpture in the dining room.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJYToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
388 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views and very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at this restaurant, and we found it one of the most memorable venues we ever visited. The stunning ocean views set the mood for a beautiful dining experience. Service is outstanding and attentive,and the food leaves nothing to be desired. The kitchen will also be happy to make adjustments to your order with a great deal of flexibility. You'll enjoy fresh, local food,which is very well prepared and beautifully presented. The portions are not too large,and if you find that you want to try the petit fours for dessert, you are in for a real treat! Quality like this, however does not come cheap. This is a splurge,but it is worth putting it on your wish list!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a beautiful meal with attentive staff, superb service and, above all else, a fabulous view of the ocean. It is expensive but well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seaside panoramic restaurant that is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

First of all, this is an amazing place for drinks. An absolutely amazing menu of cocktails and an equally impressive scotch and wine list. Sadly the only worthy brew of tap was the local Tofino Brewery choice.

The food was second to none. We had a really unique tasting menu which included chicken fried salmon and braised beef cheeks. Delicious.

Even if you went just for the view you'd be happy with this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ctbails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing