We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful View”

The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $105
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Surveying the panoramic vistas from the westernmost point of Tofino’s idyllic Chesterman Beach, The Pointe Restaurant’s Refined West Coast cuisine and attentive service come gift-wrapped with 240 degree views of the Pacific Ocean, surrounding islands and wildlife. Much of the fresh seafood is fished from the very waters overlooked by The Pointe, and a longstanding focus on locally sourced, high quality ingredients is evident. Dinner is offered on a seasonal à la carte menu, but for the best of the best, try Executive Chef Warren Barr's weekly tasting menu; Daily brunch is a true treat. Out of the ordinary desserts reflect an innovative Pastry program where most everything - from bread to butter to scrumptious chocolate croissants are housemade. An extensive wine list, recognized yearly by Wine Spectator magazine, showcases BC’s finest selections with a broad range of international bottlings. Over 100 Scotch Whiskies and a creative cocktail menu can be savoured in the comfortable On the Rocks Lounge. A true taste of Rustic Elegance On Nature’s Edge - and the West Coast’s best views - are on the menu at The Pointe Restaurant and On the Rocks Lounge.
Saanichton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We usually go to Tofino in the winter for the storm watching and have been eating at 'the Wick' now for several years. It would be hard to imagine somewhere with a better view.Yes, it's expensive, but when combined with the mystical view, good value. If you're there in the winter like us, breakfast or lunch is your best bet as it gets dark around 4:00, so you'll loose the view. Our favourite server was Keltie, however it seems she has moved on. The view a the very nice food remain.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    139
    68
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Save your money and eat somewhere else!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I dined at The Pointe on Oct. 7th to celebrate our anniversary. We were looking forward to it but were extremely disappointed. The decor is nice and the service was good, but the food leaves a lot to be desired. I found it rather pretentious that the waitress informed us exactly what we were eating after she placed the dish in front of us. We ordered it so we know in fact what we are eating! We really didn't need a lengthy rundown.

We found nothing appealing with respect to appetizers so opted for main course. The pairings are very odd. I guess they are trying to be innovative, but the combinations are peculiar. For example, halibut is paired with a pork hock, and the beef comes with bone marrow. I had the organic crisp fried chicken and my husband had rack of lamb. My husband said the lamb was okay, but nothing special. The chicken (dark meat) was deep fried. It looked really nothing like chicken. It seemed to have been formed into a large egg shape then sliced and deep fried. The smell and taste were heavy "gamey" and I did not care for it. The summer truffle and mushrooms tasted a bit tangy, slightly "off". They did have a great wine list and we enjoyed a great bottle of Cedar Creek, Pinot Grigio.

We decided to order dessert since we did not order an appetizer, but quickly changed our minds when we saw the dessert menu. It is by far the worst dessert menu I have ever seen. Someone should tell the Pastry Chef that he should stop trying to be innovative and leave vegetables off the dessert menu. Seriously, who wants beets with pepper and dark chocolate or squash and smoked tomato with chocolate. My husband decided to order "Apple Pie" but after the waitress told us it was made with aged cheddar ice cream he changed his mind. They do offer a plate of chocolate petit fours for two, but my husband does not like chocolate, and it was outrageously priced. We did receive 2 complementary truffles and 2 tiny pumpkin tarts, but the truffles were sort of sour so was very glad we didn't order the chocolate.

All in all it was a disappointment. This restaurant is highly over-rated and most definitely over-priced. One more point is that tables for two are quite large so the person across from you seems very far away. So much for intimate couple dining. We most definitely will not return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank damselfly_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Damselfly_lady,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant by way of Trip Advisor.
While we are pleased you enjoyed the décor of the Restaurant and our extensive wine list, we were most disappointed to learn that the service you received, as well as your meals were not to your satisfaction. As it is our standard to replace any dish not to our guest’s satisfaction, we certainly wish we could have had the opportunity to address your concerns personally with you at the time.
It is our goal to provide each and every guest with a culinary and service experience that meets and hopefully exceeds their expectations and we are truly sorry that we did not deliver on this for you. Please be assured that we will be reviewing your comments directly with our culinary team.
Please accept our most sincere apology if you found the food descriptions provided by your server to be unnecessary and pretentious. It has been our experience that diners of the Pointe Restaurant are interested in the special ingredients that are used to create each dish and that the descriptions enhance their dining experience. They are, however, meant to be brief and non-intrusive.
As we take our guests’ feedback very seriously, we would appreciate the opportunity to understand and learn from your experience. Should you care to discuss your dining experience personally with us, please feel free to provide your contact information to us through either Trip Advisor’s private messaging system or by emailing us directly at sandy@wickinn.com and we will arrange for a member of our senior management team to contact you directly.
Again, we are truly sorry that The Pointe Restaurant did not meet your expectations and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to discuss your concerns personally with you.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top quality dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a beautiful spot run by attentive and knowledgeable staff. The food is unique and quite tasty. The attention to detail is impeccable, right down to bringing out a special amuse-bouche with no fish for our son who is allergic.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapabilityBrownTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best Chowder Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Staying at the Wickaninnish Inn just costs too much! So instead...whenever we're in Tofino... we stay at a B & B nearby and then walk down Chesterman Beach and eat lunch at The Point Restaurant. The panoramic view out from your table s is amazing. You can watch the joggers and beach-combers, or you can be hypnotized by the ocean waves crashing on the black rock peninsula right outside. This latter view alone is worth the price of your meal. But the food is amazing, too. Everything we've eaten here has been wonderful. Our favorite, though, is their West Coast Clam Chowder. Every bite is chock full of seafood surprises....a culinary delight. With some wine and the home-made bread and butter, the chowder is a meal in itself (and costs more than I care to admit... would you believe $50 for two (when all is said and done)? Oh well... it's worth it. Don't hesitate to go & just enjoy being there!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner at The Pointe. All of the staff were polite and courteous and knew the menu back to front. No question about the menu was too hard for them to answer. The food was delicious, the best meal we've had in a while! I really enjoyed the modern and unique take on food that they provided. Yes, it is pricey, but well worth it as far as I am concerned.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elyce4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing