We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast challenge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spotted Bear - CLOSED

Spotted Bear
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast challenge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Every time we go out to breakfast the cafe in put to the test. These guys past with flying colours! Eggs Benedict was the bomb!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    77
    28
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
378 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We visited this restaurant in August of 2013 and I gave it a rating of "very good". We returned in August of 2014 and were disappointed. The menu was considerably reduced from the previous year and the quality of the food was not as good - I would rate it as "just okay" this time.

However, the cleanliness of the place needs some attention. I ordered tea and it was served in a pot but the accompanying mug was very stained inside. When I tried the tea it had a very strong coffee taste from the residual coffee left on the inner surface of the mug. I asked for a replacement mug, and while the coffee taste was much reduced it was still evident and made the tea undrinkable. Further, this new mug had a lipstick stain on the outer rim.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Spotted Bear was a romantic spot to get away from the surfer crowd dinning in swim trunks and beanies. The food was of a much higher quality than the rest of the restaurants we ate at in Tofino. I had octopus and seared tuna done particularly well. The prices are higher than most places in town but well worth it and a bargain relative to big city fine dining. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great little find on our first night in Tofino. Quality of food was as good as in any of the top London restaurants - and the bonus was it was unpretentious - bistro style in the best way.

Very helpful staff and a great evening.

Would definitely recommend !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank srhmbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We went to this restaurant on a Sunday evening so it wasn't full. When you walk in you are greater by the chef and the kitchen is right inside the door. It is a small cozy place so reservations are recommended. We started dinner with the smoked mussels - a different twist but delicious nonetheless. My wife had the pacific salmon and I had the halibut which were perfectly cooked and delicious. For dessert my wife had the chocolate, salted caramel butterscotch concoction and I had the grilled apricots with marscipone

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Westwind56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spotted Bear also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing