We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Not Great”
Review of The Great Room

The Great Room
Ranked #12 of 60 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Resort guests, visitors to Tofino and local residents are welcomed in the Great Room and during the summer on the SandBar Bistro patio. Long Beach Lodge Resort offers inspired cuisine with inspiring Pacific vistas 7:30am to 10pm daily. The Resort's location on the edge of Cox Bay, offers breathtaking ocean views from the wild and beautiful west coast that is unique to Vancouver Island. Equally spectacular is the impressive interior architecture of the Great Room. The open concept enables uninterrupted views of nature while the modern furnishings, wood accents and fireplace features provide the warmth and feeling of a living room setting.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had dinner here for our last night in Tofino. The room is great with wonderful views and the services was pretty good as well. The chowder was excellent but the seafood linguini was too much. Too much butter, too much garlic, and just too rich overall. So I'd call the meal good but not great.

Date of visit: September 2013
Thank Portland_OregonGgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 327 of 485 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoy the great room setting overlooking the beach. The eclectic mix of furniture is tasteful and inviting while private and comfortable as well. Dinner is always top quality and focuses on local, fresh ingredients with an array of seafood choices.

Date of visit: September 2013
1  Thank Harald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our waiter could not have been less interested in serving us if he tried. The food was okay, but was the least memorable of our trip to Tofino. It was also our most expensive meal, and should have been the most wonderful, as we had just gotten engaged that day!! Too bad about the waiter - suggest he stick to surfing or something he enjoys.

Date of visit: September 2013
Thank lisabL4985JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Seriously the view over looking the beach watching surfers at dusk was amazing. the crab cakes are actually to die for. you get what you pay for. The service was o.k . the wine was nice. not the most comfortable chairs to sit in. but worth every moment for sure.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had dinner two nights in a row during our stay. Had the feature vegetarian dish one night. Quinoa in a yellow curry with vegetables and dried apricots. The portion was large and quite tasty. I ordered salmon the next night. It was delicious and came with a pea puree and risotto. Another large portioned meal. The prices are in mid 20's and low 30's. My husband had the burger and it was so good, he ordered it again the second night. We ordered a dozen oysters on the half shell for $28 and they were really good. Other dishes we saw come out like the prawn linguine and one of their pizzas looked really great. The children's menu has some healthy options, comes with a drink and ice cream for $9. The service is fine. It's a quiet restaurant with beautiful ocean views. Didn't try the desserts though.
If you stay at the lodge, you will get daily complimentary continental breakfasts.

Date of visit: September 2013
Thank Maureen_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Room also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Great Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing