We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food and view were fabulous”
Review of The Great Room

The Great Room
Ranked #15 of 53 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Resort guests, visitors to Tofino and local residents are welcomed in the Great Room and during the summer on the SandBar Bistro patio. Long Beach Lodge Resort offers inspired cuisine with inspiring Pacific vistas 7:30am to 10pm daily. The Resort's location on the edge of Cox Bay, offers breathtaking ocean views from the wild and beautiful west coast that is unique to Vancouver Island. Equally spectacular is the impressive interior architecture of the Great Room. The open concept enables uninterrupted views of nature while the modern furnishings, wood accents and fireplace features provide the warmth and feeling of a living room setting.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“food and view were fabulous”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent service, Excellent food, and a fabulous view... Had the seafood chowder for lunch and it was very flavourful and light... Dinner was seafood again and delicious as well, service was great both times, servers great to talk to if you want to ask questions on the area as well left you to talk. Would definitely return again

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank deedums_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    123
    40
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great food!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My family and I stay here everytime we go to Tofino. What a great resort, I can not say enough about it. The staff here is wonderful!! They give it 100%. The restaurant is open kitch style, and it's interesting to watch the chefs make the amazing food. The morning buffet made my morning sunny, even when Tofino was full of rain.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank zestyzander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Tremendous variety. Wonderfully prepared. Unpretentious? Lovely dining room with gorgeous ocean views

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FOOD/ WINE/ SERVICE/ VIEW = my amazing dining experience at Long Beach Lodge”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This culinary tale starts with the word
at·trac·tive
   [uh-trak-tiv] Show IPA

adjective
1.
providing pleasure or delight, especially in appearance or manner; pleasing; charming; alluring: an attractive personality.

I like this word. It can speak volumes about a person/ place, or thing.
Last night I had the pleasure of experiencing the defintion of attractive in every sense.
The dinner was a multi course fusion of fresh local ingredients and flavours put together in a creative way. At times veering towards the more non traditional. The whole meal was
served with style. The service was low key but very attentive. The perfect balance. And the wine list is outstanding. My favourite of the dinner was the creme brulee and scotch pairing at the end. Not too mention the crashing waves of the Pacific Ocean as my back drop and a cracking fire to lend to the ambience. Yes, It was a very attractive experience to say the least!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great view, Good service, Adequate Meal”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My sister -in-law and I wanted to catch up so we went out for dinner. We had nothing to drink but shared an appy and each had an main course each. I found my Halibut dinner very small with the not enough vegetables. Tasted good but two pieces of asparagus and 1/4 of a beet was a bit slight for me. The waiter was very attentive and the sun setting was spectacular. Great place but not a great chef who did my dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank countryridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Room also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Great Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing