We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Great Room

The Great Room
Ranked #15 of 56 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Resort guests, visitors to Tofino and local residents are welcomed in the Great Room and during the summer on the SandBar Bistro patio. Long Beach Lodge Resort offers inspired cuisine with inspiring Pacific vistas 7:30am to 10pm daily. The Resort's location on the edge of Cox Bay, offers breathtaking ocean views from the wild and beautiful west coast that is unique to Vancouver Island. Equally spectacular is the impressive interior architecture of the Great Room. The open concept enables uninterrupted views of nature while the modern furnishings, wood accents and fireplace features provide the warmth and feeling of a living room setting.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Tremendous variety. Wonderfully prepared. Unpretentious? Lovely dining room with gorgeous ocean views

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    125
    41
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FOOD/ WINE/ SERVICE/ VIEW = my amazing dining experience at Long Beach Lodge”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This culinary tale starts with the word
at·trac·tive
   [uh-trak-tiv] Show IPA

adjective
1.
providing pleasure or delight, especially in appearance or manner; pleasing; charming; alluring: an attractive personality.

I like this word. It can speak volumes about a person/ place, or thing.
Last night I had the pleasure of experiencing the defintion of attractive in every sense.
The dinner was a multi course fusion of fresh local ingredients and flavours put together in a creative way. At times veering towards the more non traditional. The whole meal was
served with style. The service was low key but very attentive. The perfect balance. And the wine list is outstanding. My favourite of the dinner was the creme brulee and scotch pairing at the end. Not too mention the crashing waves of the Pacific Ocean as my back drop and a cracking fire to lend to the ambience. Yes, It was a very attractive experience to say the least!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great view, Good service, Adequate Meal”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My sister -in-law and I wanted to catch up so we went out for dinner. We had nothing to drink but shared an appy and each had an main course each. I found my Halibut dinner very small with the not enough vegetables. Tasted good but two pieces of asparagus and 1/4 of a beet was a bit slight for me. The waiter was very attentive and the sun setting was spectacular. Great place but not a great chef who did my dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank countryridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madkatjim
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best sashimi ever.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The sashimi appetizer was more of a meal, and it was sooo fresh, like the fish just lept into the plate from the ocean. We were recommended to go to this restaurant by our hotel Pacific Sands right next door. Long Beach Lodge has a beautiful restaurant overlooking the ocean... Everything was great and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madkatjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby BC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting with delicious food”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A group of four of us enjoyed a dinner here overlooking Cox bay in Tofino. The dining room has an elegant yet comfortable feel and the staff are friendly. At our table we enjoyed a bottle of BC chardonnay from their wine list, which has a good listing of BC wines. At our table we had the ceviche, heritage tomato sampler, green salad, halibut with risotto, and scallops with tuna. Everyone was very happy with the quality and quantity of the food. Although this restaurant is pricey, overall it was a much better experience than the last high priced, well known, restaurant here in Tofino that this group tried.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Room also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Great Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing