We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place to eat in Tofino”

Ice House Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Ice House Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Ice House is located on the historic Tofino Fish Company pier. This is an operating ice house supplying local fishermen with ice. Tofino Fish Company is a registered and operating Fish Buying Station and buys fish used at the Ice House from local fishermen. Dock to Dish, literally! The Ice House dining room is the former cold storage room for fish. We have added windows, a kitchen, great people and wonderful food to make this an exceptionally special and authentic west coast experience. We look forward to hosting you! Alan
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We lucked out! This new restaurant right on the water's edge was only 6 weeks old (Aug 2014) and hadn't been 'found' yet. It will be, so we'd suggest reservations. While Tofino has a number of good restaurants nothing beats this view, and the food was amazing, so amazing it was the only restaurant we ate at, when not dining at our hotel (Middle Beach Lodge).

The Ice House is not only a restaurant, but also a working ice house, supplying ice to fishing boats so it has a authentic feel to it, not a made-to-look-like-a-waterfront-restaurant. The food was great.

Check out their menu but we can recommend the halibut, the scallops and the oysters. Two other great recommendations were the mussels and also the fish and chips. While this may all seem rather typical of a fish/oyster bar, the execution of each of these dishes was fantastic. Interesting wine list and if you want an awesome fresh margarita, this is the place. Signage to the restaurant is a little sparse, but it's more than worth the search.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gaylehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 339 of 463 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

We had a great meal there our first night in Tofino. It was so good we came back for another dinner on our third and last night there. In between we cooked ourselves on the grill at the Duffin Cove Resort where stayed. The Ice House was busy on the first night but the staff made room for us by adding a table so we had no wait. We had the scallops, the calamari tempura and the mussels. The mussels were so good we had them again our second night along with the crispy fish and chips. There was a nice cream broth with the mussels and they gave us extra bread to lap it up. We spoke with owner who also provides ice to the local fisherman. It really is an ice house. The views top everything off as it has the best location in town to see the sunset on the end of a pier.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sumner I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We chanced in this place by accident when trying to find a place to turn our oversized rental car (Budget had run out of small cars so we were upgraded to a Monster). The sign just said 'Ice House' so we went to look and had such a nice surprise of an excellent lunch. The tables are on a dock, in the sun and sheltered from the wind. There are boats and seaplanes to watch and a sealion swam by.
We ate oysters which were some of the best that I have tasted, firm and densely flavoured without being salty. The other dishes looked good and the restaurant was full of very contented looking customers.

Thank TJCLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

OK, this place is in a fantastic location and looks great inside and on the patio. It is a fantastic place to watch the sunset over Tofino's back bay, especially if you're grabbing a quick drink at the bar. We were there for dinner though, and the service was painfully slow. It was half full, but the kitchen seemed to be crawling and maybe it was just a bad night, but our waitress was super slow too. The food was pretty good, but not great. If you have no where to be anytime soon, it's probably fine, but the service attitude was overly relaxed. There is one bathroom to share, which opens right onto the main restaurant area, and when we visited the lock was broken, and someone had pasted a hand-written sign telling patrons about this problem. I'm not sure why they didn't go to the hardware store a couple of blocks away and get a cheap latch as a temporary fix - it would have taken about the same amount of time as making the sign. When we left, they asked us to review them on Tripadvisor, so I did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Westernwanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Owner at Ice House Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

We regret that your experience was not what it should have been. We have additional washrooms in the ice plant building but most patrons use the accessible washroom in the restaurant building. I had never intended to have our accessible washroom in its current location, and we will be moving it in the fall. We replaced the door handle the next morning. We are proud of our food and always looking for new ways to improve it. I am sorry that our restaurant was not up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

The food was good, but like most Tofino restaurants we visited it was expensive. Everything tasted good, but the service was a little slow. The mushroom risotto was offered as a feature meal, but in no way was enough food on its own. It would be worth a return visit for the view, but not necessarily anything else.

Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Owner at Ice House Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank you for your comment. I shall discuss the issue with our chefs with a view to adding to the dish with a vegetable or more risotto to ensure better value. I wish to ensure that everyone leaves the Ice House satisfied, happy and pleased that they chose to dine at our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice House Oyster Bar also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Ice House Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing