We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for coffee and muffin”

Common Loaf Bake Shop
Ranked #13 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A local favorite since 1980, The Common Loaf Bake Shop provides hardy healthy and tasty fresh baked goods, gourmet coffee, breakfast and lunch choices.Local Favorites include world famous cheese buns and deliciously sticky cinnies. Internet access in this licensed establishment serving everything from a beer to a great specialty coffee make it a great spot to hang out. Please note our business does not accept credit or debit cards but we are conveniently located next to the bank.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee and muffin”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Dropped in for a coffee, and got tempted to their muffins. No regrets at all. Friendly place, good food, and seemed to have a range of gluten free produce, but we didn't sample. We did then take a bag of their day old goodies, and no regrets there either! Wifi was accessible and free, so able to do a quick checks on the attractions around the town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    192
    82
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Amazing muffins, cozy seating!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I came to Common Loaf every day I was in Tofino. They have delicious muffins (and a really good deal on bags of day olds!) and great coffee, too! The seating area, both up and downstairs is warm and inviting. You can tell it's a place where lots of locals frequent, which in turn gives it a very nice community feel. Upstairs as a nice great view of the ocean as well! Can't wait to come back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
183 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Slow and mediocre”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

By virtue of it being the only place we found open we wound up here. Maybe it is because it is at the end of the road or maybe it is just because they do not have to care but we found the restaurant slow, the coffee ill prepared and the food mediocre at best. Prepare yourselves to be underwhelmed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradford7050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice place for a break”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We just stopped in for a tea and scone. Good selection of goodies. Good atmosphere and nice view from the upstairs patio. They were busy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LenBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nothing really special”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Service pretty average, poor coffee (you help yourself from a Thermos flask and it was lukewarm) whilst a ginger muffin was undercooked and a cinnamon bun was dry and tasteless. Perhaps we got them on a bad day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comloaf, Owner at Common Loaf Bake Shop, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Sounds like you visited us on the day the power was off for the day because we don't usually use the thermos for the coffee except when we don't have power. Sorry the coffee was lukewarm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Loaf Bake Shop also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Common Loaf Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing