We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and Spectacular views”
Review of Bella Pacifica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Pacifica
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The friendly service we received made our stay very enjoyable. A campground that has an indoor pool and hot shower is so helpful with kids. Yes, the space is cramped but since we are Canadians we made friends with our neighbors and had a great time. Even though the space is tight, everyone shuts down early and is respectful of noise levels past 11:00. Ocean view 10 out of 10, staff 10 out of 10, the indoor pool needs proper vents in order to remove humidity (I suggest that they call an HVAC company like Torry and Sons).

John, Vanessa and 3 kids

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnh808169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 285 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We looked at several campsites in Tofino, a lot of them were several miles out of town even as much as 20 minutes. Bella Pacifica is less than 2 minutes but you still get to be in the woods and right on the ocean. It's true that you don't have the most privacy between campsites but I think this will depend on the person. If you're really going there for seclusion and isolation then don't stay here. If you want great view & access to the beach and extremely easy access to the town of Tofino and all the tour operators, all the restaurants, surf shops, fishing shops, coffee shops, then this is the place to stay for sure. Highly recommend taking one of the 6 hour tours to the hot springs and see whales, sea lions, and bears along the way. Bella Pacifica has an affiliate company running these tours and they were cheaper than others we checked with in town. Highly recommend for people wanting to experience the beach, ocean, and town of Tofino. Only reason I don't give it 5 stars is the fact that you are somewhat close to your neighbors. Luckily for us that actually worked out well because our neighbors suggested some great things for us to do while on our trip.

Room Tip: The whole campsite is on the ocean but try to get one of the sites on or close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Tsimtcu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The main thing to know is that you are going here for the spectacular ocean views and beachside camping. It's unparralelled. Howver it is quite cramped and there is nothing for privacy between most sites. I guess we are spoiled by the spacious provincial park sites with their ample privacy. Also not all sites have hookups. One night we went into town to "the fish store" on campbell street and got fresh local oysters and scallops. We cooked them up at the campsite and that was awesome. Great way wind up a day at the beach. Lastly if u have a huge rv this is not the place for you. Room is tight. But we will definately be back. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We called ahead and inquired about an oceanfront site. We were told on the phone that those sites are only for tents or very small (up to 17 ft.!) RVs, so we booked a site in the second row, still ocean view. When we arrived, we saw that almost all of the oceanfront sites were occupied by RVs much bigger than ours (a small truck camper). We asked to change sites, but that was not possible anymore, which was a huge disappointment, since we payed for 5 nights. The 2 guys at the front desk were almost asleep and not very helpful, which was (luckily) a first for us on our 2-months trip through Canada. Showers are very expensive (2 minutes 1 dollar) and really just the minimum standard (not even heated which sucks in october). The sites are small compared to what we experienced on our trip. The absolute PLUS on that campground is really the stunning view, and that view we enjoyed very much, despite the disappointment we had on our arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanada11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been camping here, multiple times a year, for the past 16 yrs. You can't beat this campground for its beautiful location, proximity to both town and the Pacific Rim National Park. The past few year, with fabulous management in place, we have seen a huge improvement in this campground. The tolerance for noisy partying campers is almost a zero. This past July long weekend, multiple groups were kicked out, first thing in the morning (with no refund) after being loud and disruptive to other campers late into the night. Way to go, Bella Pacifica!! This campground is clean, they do their best to keep the washrooms open (no thanks to people flushing things and clogging up the sewer system), and they are always there to offer suggestions and deal with your concerns. Yes, this campground is not cheap, none of them in the area are....but you get what you pay for - a stunning sandy beach, beautiful surrounding forests and tons of activities, close by, to go and do.....not to mention a short walk to the yummy Tofino Chocolate shop for homemade gelato!

Room Tip: book early if you want to get a view site, this campground is large, but often sold out every nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandDeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've camped at Bella Pacifica before. We enjoyed ourselves last time and this. Yes there's crows...so what, we're camping! The beach is beautiful and it is nice to be able to walk there. The campground is similar to others we have stayed at in Tofino and Ucluelet. Nothing special, wood was damp, bathrooms have no soap or anything to dry your hands with, and the showers were not in service. They advertise security and a 10:00pm quiet time. Didn't see either, but then again this did not bother us. We had people camping near us the second night who were playing loud music and singing but I enjoyed it and they were not belligerent drunks. We had reserved on line and got a deal, we weren't thrilled to then be charged a $10. reservation fee on top of the tax when we arrived. I wouldn't pay full price but would definitely return. My suggestions would be to make sure the showers are in working order, put some soap and paper towel in the bathrooms and maybe enforce the quiet time for those campers who don't want to listen to others at midnight.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a day of trying to get a reservation (phone continuously busy), I submitted an on-line reservation form. The response I got to this was they had sites but to phone for a reservation. If you have an on-line reservation form, why not do the reservation that way. I responded to their email my frustrations in trying to get through on the phone and asked if someone could call me back. AND.....they DID!! We lucked out getting an oceanview full hook-up site (granted this was September 20). Three nights of amazing views and falling asleep to the sound of the ocean lapping and sometimes thundering below us. The place is well maintained and the staff are friendly. Given the cost, though, I was a bit surprised to hear that they charge for showers and firewood. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a view site, definitely call ahead. During the summer months, I would ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,086 reviews
1 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MacKenzie Beach Resort
MacKenzie Beach Resort
#18 of 20 in Tofino
318 reviews
2.4 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
1.3 mi away
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Pacifica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Pacifica

Address: 400 Mackenzie Beach Rd. | P.O. Box 413, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range: $20 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open from February to November, Bella Pacifica campgrounds is located on the western shore of Vancouver Island and offers both an oceanfront and wilderness setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Pacifica Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing