We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beach!”
Review of Bella Pacifica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Pacifica
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Beach!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I have stayed at other campsites but I like this one the best. Yes, the sites are smallish...but not all of them. Its all about which one you get. Look at the the online site map. Note that only the sites along the front beach side actually see the beach. All campsites have fire pits and firewood is available for purchase at the campground office.
Some people have complained about the noise rules, however I am glad they are in place. I have had to listen to people with there music playing and then trying to talk over it and sound carries far in a quiet campground.
The beach is great for kids. Lots of nice flat sand (good for skim boarding), rocky points at either end and a small island that can be explored at the south end.
A short drive away is a surf rental shop and a little further is the town of Tofino.
The area has many beautiful trails to hike and other beaches to explore.
Oh and one last thing...do not leave food out and unattended. The birds (crows) are always watching and they will be into it in seconds.

Room Tip: The ocean view sites are also susceptible to the onshore winds. Don't book sights next to washro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank Crabita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    83
    45
    34
    31
See reviews for
84
88
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Hmmmm what can I say? Visited Bella Pacifica last week of August.
R.V. sites are tiny just like "T.M." noted... having said that ,I didn't see any other campground in or around Tofino that had somewhat of a beach view.
Pro
-location and closeness of beautiful Mackenzie Beach
Con's
-sites are very small, barely can get truck off of road in front of trailer
-not once did I see any type of security people...younger people,on one of the evenings, sat up all night having a beach fire and drinking...still going at it at 8 in the morning,same night some of the campsites were ripped-off of coolers bbq's etc.
-service... unfortunately we did not experience the same professional,helpful, kind service that "Tripstyle" had..both desk attendants seemed like we were a distraction from the personal phone call & the doodling on the campground map pad that we got to admire as we were looking for our site.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ogopogo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We travelled by RV and although the beach was beautiful, the campsite itself was lacking to say the least. The tenting areas were gorgeous but they stuff the RV'rs onto one level with no space to breathe between each unit. the sewer hose from the neighbors trailer was beside the firepit and picnic table . No room for vehicle parking. They should make more space for trailers. AND the biggest disappointment was they promised a beach view. Well there would be if it wasn't for a 4 foot hedge blocking the view. 60.00/ night for cramped space and no view= fail,.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Was skeptical, reading past reviews, but pleasantly surprised .

Mixed group of 6 ages 10 to 40

Turned out to be a magic camping experience!
The staff never got in our faces.
Allowed a little fun, but did enforce music off after certain time.
Great mix for a family of mixed ages.

Sites clean, camp sites spectacular scenery (same as Green point- but better)
The beach is fantastic, you need to experience the setting to believe it.
Rock pools and ponds a plus for the kids.

I have been to both green-point and Bella, and choose Bella, the showers are a plus!
Sure a buck for 2 min of shower water as apposed to green point with nothing at all.
Great camp for a family where the kids can make a little noise yet civil order is maintained.
No gotcha deposit as mentioned in a past review.
To be honest those complaining about Bella should rather book into a hotel, if that's what your looking for.
For avid campers you wont be disappointed unless you got a bug up your ***

1 negative - Phone and bookings need attention.
Having kids managing the camp is fine but keep the phone and bookings to an adult.

Bella see you next year!

Room Tip: Avoid high traffic sites near like showers, beach sites not good for tents (wind) RV OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zxenith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This past weekend was my second stay at Bella Pacifica Campground in Tofino, BC. I would absolutely go back for multiple reasons, namely the service and location.

The large campground sits right on the expansive and sheltered Mackenzie beach. It feels like a BC version of Maui where you can just set up camp near the beach. Some sites are literally on it, and for those that aren't, there are multiple beach access points.

Sites
The first time I camped at Bella I had a fairly private interior site with no view, and this past weekend I could peer through the trees of my site and see the sand bar below. There was a little trail that connected to the beach, and it took approximately 7-steps to get there from the treed, shady site.

Service
I was really impressed with the service. The girl and guy who checked me in were professional, helpful and kind. Given the size of the operation, they are also tactfully strict with quiet hours and bear rules {ie not leaving food or cooking items left out when you are not on site} and have a major focus on the greater good of the campground. I saw this in action multiple times over the weekend and commend the staff for their attention to detail. The bathrooms were also cleaned regularly, a task which perhaps goes unnoticed given the mud that gets tracked in from the ground.

What to know:
- You can buy ice, wood and do laundry at the site, and it’s the same price or cheaper than nearby gas stations.
- $1 gets you a hot shower for approx 2 mins.
- You need to bring everything to the washroom, there is no hand soap or paper towels provided [TP is provided though. FEWF!]
- Bring ear plugs. Even with the site’s strict no-noise-after-10 policy {which I loved}, people can still get a little loud if you’re a light sleeper.
- Bella Pacifica is a 5 min drive or 20 min bike ride from Tofino.
- Dog friendly, but they must be leashed.
- The beachfront sites have little privacy between each other, the main draw is the view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tripstyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My family of 4 just returned from a vacation in B.C. where we rented an RV. We stayed at Bella Pacifica for three nights. First of all, you can't beat the location. Mackenzie Beach is breathtaking and more sheltered than Long Beach so not as windy. Our kids loved exploring all of the marine life when the the tides went out. Our site was on top of the hill looking out over the ocean, but also other campsites. Still, it was an incredible view to wake up to.

However, they are extremely small sites once you back your RV in and hook it up you have little room and little privacy from your neighbours. We did not mind as we were not on the site much. Wedid not use the washrooms as we had all needed facilities in the RV, but I did walk over to them and looked inside and they seemed VERY grungy to me. I have fairly high standards when it comes to that but they did seem quite dirty. You also have to pay for the showers as mentioned before.

However, for location and being close to Pacific Rim and Tofino you can't beat it. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We were told that we weren't allowed to drink on our campsite. We were told to turn down our music- it was barely audible and coming from a tiny AA battery powered radio. We were told over the phone that the campsite only had 1-2 campsites available for the night that we wanted to stay there. They wanted our credit card number to reserve our site for a minimum of 3 nights. When we got there we noticed that there were NUMEROUS campsites avaiable. And just so you know, the campsites are small and very close together.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trex82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Pacifica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Pacifica

Property: Bella Pacifica
Address: 400 Mackenzie Beach Rd. | P.O. Box 413, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open from February to November, Bella Pacifica campgrounds is located on the western shore of Vancouver Island and offers both an oceanfront and wilderness setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Pacifica Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing