We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Charlie's B&B had everything we wanted. Jacuzzi's on the deck in the evening while listening to the ocean. A very quick walk into town so we could go in an enjoy the amazing food Tofino has to offer and not have to worry about parking or who would drive. And a very comfy bed, we had some of the best post-wedding sleeps (and naps!).

Then there is the breakfasts! I've heard Charlie referred to as the "breakfast ninja". You never see him but suddenly there is an amazing breakfast sitting outside your window. Warm pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt and granola. A perfect way to start your day.

I would highly recommend this B&B if you are looking to explore the town of Tofino. Charlie is an amazing host and will provide you with recommendations for anything and everything you are looking to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Best bed and breakfast I have ever experienced, the room #1 was so perfect, the bed so comfy and the patio, fantastic. The best was the hot-tub in front of the breathtaking view! The breakfast was the best way to start our day, and the bbq at night was just perfect. Thanks Charlie!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeSand55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Meares retreat is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Where to even start....the view is to die for, the breakfasts were delicious, the beds comfy, the rooms spotless (we stayed in both room 1 and 2), the hot tub is such a treat and the one thing that made it more special than anywhere else is Charlie. Charlie who runs the B & B could not have been more lovely, he was friendly without being overbearing, he had lots of advise on places to go and things to see, restaurants to eat in. He recommended Remote Passages who we used to go both bear watching and on a hot springs trip. We saw loads of whales and bears which was a truly magical experience. We watched eagles soar over the hot tub and gazed at the starts at night.

Room 2 is the bigger of the two rooms, we stayed 2 nights in each room. Room 2 is the better of the two but Room 1 isn't far behind. Both have fridges and hot tubs, a sofa, fireplace and dinning table. Room 2 has fantastic windows which wrap around the deck and let you take in the fantastic view from the comfort of the sofa, it also has a great kitchen.

Room Tip: If you get the chance go for room 2, you wont regret paying a tinny bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We spent the first few nights of our honeymoon here, and we cannot say enough great things about Charlie and his first class hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

(Travelled Oct 2010).

I decided to go to Tofino on the off chance as I read it was a great place to go. Our main holiday was in Vancouver itself, we had a two night stay in Victoria and headed off for our two night stay in Tofino. Let me start by telling you that Tofino is a 5 hour drive from Victoria. Coming from a small country like the UK we totally underestimated the size of Vancouver Island.

Once we got to Tofino we instantly loved it. Its a small community in the middle of nowhere. Once we pulled into Meares reatreat we were met by Charlie. The thing that makes Mearers retreat is Charlie! We chose Mearers retreat because my partner googled, "Tofino Hottub" and found Meares retreat, im sooo glad she did. Charlie gave us the warmest welcome, the friendlies person you could ever wish to meet. We chose suite #2 which is the better of the two. It had everything we could possible need to a pretty high standard. As an added bonus, there was no one staying in suite #1 making our stay even more secluded.

Upon on arriving he showed us around our suite and took us through popular/recommended things to do near by. He took interest in who we were and what we did, he was really easy to get on with. So much more than what you would get from a chain hotel. Breakfast was provided, with a fresh collection of baked goods and fresh juice delivered outside our suite door each morning, (watch out for the racoons!).

Picture this, clear starry skies, rolling waves breaking beneath you, a private hot tub and an open fire on the deck (and Charlie supplied the wood no bother, despite previous users nearly burning a hole in the deck!)... sheer bliss, the closest to paradise we've ever been, so good we stayed an extra night.

If you go to Vancouver, go to Vancouver Island, if you go to Vancouver Island go to Tofino, Meares retreat.

Thanks again Charlie and hopefully see you again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r10ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We spent seven nigths in suit No. 2. It is an apartement, which has three panorama windows, facing a little, tranquil bay (shown on the website) - a big Veranda: where you can totally alone face the stunning nature around you, or enjoy a hot tub while watching the ocean. The whole house lies by walking distance from the "city" of Torino - but quiet and extremly relaxing.
The room was clean and cozy, the owner (Charlie), delivered a delicious breakfast every morning in front of our door which we enjoyed at our veranda or inside.
If you are looking for a absolutely silent, private place, within the nature but still close to everything else this is your place to be!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We went to The Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast the second week in March 2011, and all I can say is spectacular. We spent our time in room number #2, open concept, with a full kitchen, queen size bed, beautifully updated bathroom and the most breathe taking views in all of Tofino.

After falling asleep to the sound of the rocks hitting the shore out side our window, we woke up to find a tray of fresh fruit and hot pastries outside our door. We ate the delicious meal on the deck before heading out to explore all the beautiful beaches and attractions that Tofino has to offer.

Upon returning home we opened a bottle of wine and went for a soak in our private hot tub. The hot tub is situated on the deck, steps away from the front door, with a beautiful view of the bay. We could have spent hours in there; unfortunately we had to get out for our short walk into town and a delicious dinner.

The only thing better at The Mearse Retreat Bed & Breakfast then the room and view was the owner Charlie. From the time we arrived to the time we left he was only too happy to help us with whatever we needed. Being a resident of Tofino, Charlie knew the places to go and more importantly the places to stay away from. Without his advice we would have missed out of some of the best places Tofino has to offer.

The Mearse Retreat Bed & Breakfast was a wonderful place to stay and we were upset that we had to leave. We are already planning our next trip to the West Coast with a longer stay at this beautiful place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tysonn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.0 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
1,007 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 140 Arnet Road, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing