We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity On The Edge Of The World!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tranquillity On The Edge Of The World!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

(Travelled Oct 2010).

I decided to go to Tofino on the off chance as I read it was a great place to go. Our main holiday was in Vancouver itself, we had a two night stay in Victoria and headed off for our two night stay in Tofino. Let me start by telling you that Tofino is a 5 hour drive from Victoria. Coming from a small country like the UK we totally underestimated the size of Vancouver Island.

Once we got to Tofino we instantly loved it. Its a small community in the middle of nowhere. Once we pulled into Meares reatreat we were met by Charlie. The thing that makes Mearers retreat is Charlie! We chose Mearers retreat because my partner googled, "Tofino Hottub" and found Meares retreat, im sooo glad she did. Charlie gave us the warmest welcome, the friendlies person you could ever wish to meet. We chose suite #2 which is the better of the two. It had everything we could possible need to a pretty high standard. As an added bonus, there was no one staying in suite #1 making our stay even more secluded.

Upon on arriving he showed us around our suite and took us through popular/recommended things to do near by. He took interest in who we were and what we did, he was really easy to get on with. So much more than what you would get from a chain hotel. Breakfast was provided, with a fresh collection of baked goods and fresh juice delivered outside our suite door each morning, (watch out for the racoons!).

Picture this, clear starry skies, rolling waves breaking beneath you, a private hot tub and an open fire on the deck (and Charlie supplied the wood no bother, despite previous users nearly burning a hole in the deck!)... sheer bliss, the closest to paradise we've ever been, so good we stayed an extra night.

If you go to Vancouver, go to Vancouver Island, if you go to Vancouver Island go to Tofino, Meares retreat.

Thanks again Charlie and hopefully see you again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r10ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We spent seven nigths in suit No. 2. It is an apartement, which has three panorama windows, facing a little, tranquil bay (shown on the website) - a big Veranda: where you can totally alone face the stunning nature around you, or enjoy a hot tub while watching the ocean. The whole house lies by walking distance from the "city" of Torino - but quiet and extremly relaxing.
The room was clean and cozy, the owner (Charlie), delivered a delicious breakfast every morning in front of our door which we enjoyed at our veranda or inside.
If you are looking for a absolutely silent, private place, within the nature but still close to everything else this is your place to be!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We went to The Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast the second week in March 2011, and all I can say is spectacular. We spent our time in room number #2, open concept, with a full kitchen, queen size bed, beautifully updated bathroom and the most breathe taking views in all of Tofino.

After falling asleep to the sound of the rocks hitting the shore out side our window, we woke up to find a tray of fresh fruit and hot pastries outside our door. We ate the delicious meal on the deck before heading out to explore all the beautiful beaches and attractions that Tofino has to offer.

Upon returning home we opened a bottle of wine and went for a soak in our private hot tub. The hot tub is situated on the deck, steps away from the front door, with a beautiful view of the bay. We could have spent hours in there; unfortunately we had to get out for our short walk into town and a delicious dinner.

The only thing better at The Mearse Retreat Bed & Breakfast then the room and view was the owner Charlie. From the time we arrived to the time we left he was only too happy to help us with whatever we needed. Being a resident of Tofino, Charlie knew the places to go and more importantly the places to stay away from. Without his advice we would have missed out of some of the best places Tofino has to offer.

The Mearse Retreat Bed & Breakfast was a wonderful place to stay and we were upset that we had to leave. We are already planning our next trip to the West Coast with a longer stay at this beautiful place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tysonn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2010

What an amazing place to stay and what a view!! I kind of wish we had spent more time here just enjoying the view, hot tub ect. The website pics dont do this place justice. We stayed in the bigger room, it had everything you could possibly need and more including your own hottub, stereo with cds, fully equiped kitchen ect. Charlie- the owner, has renovated this room and it is beautiful.

Charlie was a great host, even helped my husband cook a live crab (it was my husbands first time). We had visits from racoons with babies- OMG they were so cute!!! And a bald eagle was always above us or across the bay. What a majestic creature!!

My husband is already talking about going back , he is now hooked on Tofino. You cant go wrong staying here! Charlie if you need someone to come stay and paint, call us!! Susan and Jason

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieSaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Meares Retreat is an absolutely charming, spectacular spot - perched high above a rocky bay with a stunning view of the sea meeting the mountains, and even a resident eagle. The rooms are spotless and furnished comfortably, with all the little touches (cds, local magazines, corkscrews, etc) that make a stay effortless. The private hot tub (kept sparkling clear), in-room fireplace, and elegant and very generous breakfasts add luxurious touches.

However, the real star of Meares Retreat is Charlie himself - a gracious, friendly host who goes out of his way to make sure that you feel welcome in Tofino and that your trip is stress-free. As car-less travellers, we especially appreciated his kind offers to give us a lift places around town - bus depot, surf lessons, airport, etc - that would have otherwise been a long walk or pricey to arrange. He gave great restaurant advice and it was lots of fun to chat with him about the area.

We really can't recommend this B&B enough - book as soon as you can, and give our best to Charlie!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordan_leichnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Meare's Retreat is in a breathtakingly stunning location - Perched on a cliff top overlooking the bay, with its own resident bald eagle.
The delicious breakfast - of fresh pastries and exotic fruits - can be taken on the decking. There is also a hot tub, which shares this fantastic view, of which you have exclusive use.
The service is excellent - friendly yet unintrusive and the room is clean and comfortable. You even get fresh flowers in the toilet!
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We had the pleasure of three nights accomodation at Meares Retreat under the care of the inimitable Charlie, our host and owner of Meares. We arrived early in the afternoon and called in to drop off our luggage but this caused no trouble and we were given a warm welcome from Charlie.

Meares is a well presented, spotless and very friendly accommodation boasting a terrific location (at the top of an 80ft cliff overlooking Duffin Cove) and is close to "downtown Tofino's" attractions. We chose the smaller of his two rooms which was very comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was an excellent choice of fresh fruit and baked fare delivered to our room every morning. Breakfast was taken on the deck (boasting a barbeque and hot-tubs), which was shared with Meares second room but offers privacy so you can interract or avoid fellow guests as you wish. The view from the deck is superb, neither words nor photographs can really do it justice and best viewed (day or night) from the hot-tub!

Charlie was a superb host, a mine of information (and anecdotes), strking the correct balance with his guests, we were given lots of personal attention but never felt imposed upon.

Tofino is a superb location for those prepared to explore, get a bit wet and have an interest in nature. Basically, if Meares is in your price bracket and you can live without the "extras" provided by a large hotel, then look no further than Meares. We would definately recommend Meares to anyone (young or slightly greying couples) wanting an improvement on the large, stuffy, boring and impersonal hotels - usually chains - clogging holiday locations. It was a sad occasion to say farewell to Charlie and Meares, it may be a long way, but I have a feeling that we'll be back.

  • Liked — The friendliness, quality of service and information provided by Charlie
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoBlackDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,026 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 140 Arnet Road, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing